We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst holiday inn I've ever stayed in” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The worst holiday inn I've ever stayed in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Is this really a Holiday Inn? Firstly its a cheap almost flat packed building...I've stayed in more solidly put together Travelodges. Secondly I've rarely come across more poorly trained hotel staff, had to ask four times to get the right bottle of beer and ended up with a Soave having ordered a Sancerre. When the right bottle finally arrived the waitress was delighted to tell us "I've found one, we haven't sold one of these in months!!". The bottle was cold, the wine inside was warm. As for the food, straight from the cook/chill cabinet.
Next time I'll stay at the Premier Inn

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to my hotel. Our aim is to provide the friendliest, most welcoming hotel in the area - with knowledgagle staff who enhance your stay.

With this always in mind, we will certainly be acting on your comments, they will help us focus our training over the coming weeks.

Many many thanks - please give me a call before you try the Premier Inn next time - I am sure you'll see us in a different light. My number is 07736746098.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    227
    120
    50
    36
See reviews for
143
146
29
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at the Hotel on a Saturday night with my 2 children recently. We had a family room with breakfast included for £90. The staff were pleasant and friendly and happily gave me a short extension to the check-out time the following morning when we had a slow start! The children loved the swimming pool and the attendant (it is not life-guarded but he was manning the desk in the Health Club) could not have done more for us (including moving a chair for me when all the others had been taken with towels and clothes!). The breakfast was really good, substantial and cooked to order (that might have been because the hotel was quiet but it worked for us) but the dinner the evening before was over-priced and lacked flavour (I had the king-prawn Thai curry). Overall though the location was excellent, the room was quiet despite the proximity to the M5, and the facilities were good. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
....and we would love for you to return. Great feedback, thank you. Mark in the Health Club is just so passionate about Customer Service - its great to hear that it comes accross from the whole team.
I'll try the curry tonight and see if we don't need to add a little something.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I was lucky enough to book this room in the new year sale for £20.12 excellent value. We were given an executive room which was very spacious. We were visiting relatives for Xmas so only needed to use the room but all the facilities looked good and the staff were very friendly . We would stay again .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oatesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Brilliant News - so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

To be honest I can't believe you got that rate!!!!

It was actually a special promotion to raise awareness of our relationship with the London Olympics 2012. £20.12 (get it) - look out for more fantastic deals and promotions as we approach what is going to be a terrific Summer.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in a family room for a night between Christmas & new year, to take the opportunity to visit friends. The hotel is nice, exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. The room was clean and well equipped. Unfortunately they had forgotten to set the room up as a family room so there were no sheets / duvet covers etc for the sofa beds, but we told reception on the way out and when we came back the kids beds were all made up, so well done to them for dealing with it efficiently.

The hotel could do with staff on the reception desk rather than sitting them in the back office. At check in and on a couple of other occasions we had to wait quite a while for a member of staff to notice there was someone at the desk. A bell would help if the staff have duties to attend to out back. The receptionist was efficient but could have done with a smile!

The only other negative point we had was that the rooms were so hot and the temperature is controlled centrally. We couldn't open the window to let in air as the busy roads nearby would have kept the wee ones awake but boy it was a warm night. They could save some money by cutting their heat by a few degrees!

On our wishlist - not just for this hotel but for family rooms in general - would be some form of dimmer light. That would allow parents to stay up past 9pm when their kids go to sleep. Otherwise your left with the option of a 100w bulb illuminating every crevice!

Go - have fun - its a holiday inn. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falamanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

Its great to know you had such a good time - but I am sorry about the couple of niggles.

We have taken the decision to ensure that there is a central control of our heating system - this is actually to give all our guests a real plus point of nice warm rooms to greet them on arrival. I am sorry you found yours a little too warm though - there is now the ability to overide the system in each room either by decreasing the temperature or turning the system off entirely.

In addition, we now have a wonderful new Front Office Manager by the name of Gemma, and I just know that together with her new team she will be making sure that all our guests recieve a welcoming smile - they are such a happy bunch, its hard to stop them!

Thank you again - and I hope we see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We had 2 rooms at this hotel on Christmas Day. We were booked in and indeed out by a young man with the name of Luke. He made us feel very welcome and was cheerful and helpful. We have used Holiday Inn all over the world and this was as good as any we have used previously. Convenient location, good rooms, nice facilities and friendly staff. Well done Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Worth the little extra to have an executive room. Ask for a room that does not face the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to write such nice comments, and a Happy New Year to you. Luke is really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much, as am I.
We very much hope to see you back again this year.
Kind Regards, Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Friendly yet efficient hotel. Nice sized room and clean apart from the tic tac mint found behind the sofa bed! Staff were very attentive and friendly throughout my stay and I liked the fact that they remembered me at morning breakfast from the previous night's dinner. Good range of food available in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast was plentiful too. Wish I'd got round to trying out the pool and gym facilities. Overall a very pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Maybe you'll get time to try the Pool on your next visit. Mark assures you of a warm welcome in Spirit!

Thank you so much for your kind review - it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay - although we will certainly be working hard to ensure no complementary tic tac during your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have stayed at this Hotel on many occasions over the last 3 years, I have always found the staff to be most welcoming and attentive. The facilities are excellent and the location is superb for Shopping in the Town, and surrounding attractions. Rooms are clean and well maintained. I have always received a friendly welcome on my return visits, makes the difference between an average establishment and a good one.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseowlPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you so much.

The team here are very passionate about making that difference to your's and all our visitor's stays. I hope that we continue to see you for many years to come.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing