We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a stopover”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This proved to be a good choice for our one night stay. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was quite large, very clean and comfortable. We had a package deal which was good value as the breakfast choice was very extensive and dinner was much as one expects from a chain hotel. The food was well cooked, but would have been quite pricey if not done on the deal. Very convenient if you just want a break for the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay so much, and we are going to work even harder to make our Taunton Holiday Inn experience even better than any other chain experience!

Thanks again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    235
    123
    51
    43
See reviews for
148
156
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We booked an all-in deal of dinner, bed and breakfast. We were not expecting too much for the evening meal, as this is a chain hotel. However, it exceeded our expectations as we had a very good meal and the value was great too. I can thoroughly recommend this package. Breakfast was also very good - great choice of fruit (mostly not fresh, but tinned - good nevertheless), good choice of hot food and pastries too.

The hotel room was a good size and very clean. The air conditioning was very effective. A minor criticism – the security chain was too large for the mechanism to hold it, so when we went to bed we couldn’t totally secure the door.

I agree with other comments about expensive wifi, some other chains offer it free and this may become a differentiator in the future – so this chain may have to rethink its policies here. I didn’t buy the wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Our new "Best of British" menus were launched at the begining of June and have definitely had great feedback. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner experience so much.

Wi Fi is still chargable at the moment, and I know it looks and feels expensive. However, it is reliable and is of a large enough bandwidth to allow downloads and streaming which some included packages have difficulty with. In addition we have launched a new £10 offer for "an evenings Wi Fi" (or 4 hours).

My Maintenance team are double checking those security chains in all rooms - thanks for the heads up!

Hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Pros:
- Very clean
- Very comfortable bed with a choice of 2 types of pillow
- Modern bathroom with shower and bath
- Very good cooked breakfast
- Lots of storage room
- Parking close to reception
- Friendly service

Cons:
- Bathroom seat was yellow from age
- Wifi was not free. COST £28 PER DAY??!! In this day and age, it's unacceptable that hotels do not come with free Wifi. £79 per night is enough for this to be included.

For this reason, I would not stay here again. Such a shame.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Am so pleased that the PROS far outnumber the CONS!

We are changing the bathroom seats throughout the hotel. I am so sorry that yours was one we have not quite got to yet. The current schedule is on line tohave new seats throughout by the end of the year.

Wi Fi is still chargeable, however we do have a number of packages available: £5 for 1 hour, £10 for 4 hours and £16.00 for 24 hours. I am extremely sorry that these were not properly communicated to you during your stay.

Many many thanks for taking the time to post a review - I do hope we see you again in the future.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived on the bank holiday with the rain pouring down outside. From start to finish we enjoyed the highest quality service from the staff. Our family room was quiet and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi. The food was tasty and the menu had a good choice for a young family. We did have to wait a while for our evening meal to arrive but this displeasure was soon addressed by the Head Waiter who went out of his way to apologise and provided complimentary drinks- a really nice touch. As a family we received excellent hospitality here.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your great stay.

Our new menus are definitely going down a treat - so its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your evening.

Hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having had a dodgy stay at the Holiday Inn Reading a few months back, it was pleasure to revisit Taunton and stay here again. Located ina conveneint location for exporing souht Devon and Somerset, the hotel was immaculately clean, airy and spacious. Kids are made welcome and not seen as an inconvenience - the provision of milk and cookies in the lounge for a bedtime snack is a nice touch. The pool area was clean and the staff courteous. Receptionist offered us discounted breakfast coupons without prompting. Had a good night's sleep in a quiet room - unlike at Reading! Breakfast was excellent. If you don't fancy eating in the hotel's restaurant there's a Harvester grill a few yards away - had some great food there (half spit roast chicken, side, and salad for £10!)
In short agood example of a good Holiday Inn - look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Book in advance and search B and B packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jepstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Wow - so nice of you to take the time to write such great comments.

Hope to see you again soon, and Thank you.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights in May. The location is very convenient for the M5 but far enough away not to suffer traffic noise. The staff are outstanding and a very positive bonus. They were all very helpful and friendly but at the same time professional. The room was clean and adequate though unfortunately we found the beds too hard. We eat in the hotel, there is enough choice at the breakfast buffet to satisfy anyone but the quality of the evening meals were disappointing. If we had one major complaint it is the room soundproofing. I suspect this was in part due to being in a room with a connecting door. We could hear the conversations of the occupants next door clearly and on the first morning the next-door occupant had a long telephone conversation at 6am, which was so loud he may as well have been sharing our room. The leisure facilities are very good and free to guests. We would happily stay again but if we did we would ensure we were not in a room with a connecting door.

Room Tip: Unless you have a reason for a room with a connecting door avoid them! If you plan to eat dinner in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

I am so sorry that your Evening meal was not up to expectation - am happy to say that we have launched our new "Best of British" menus in June and they are definitely an improvement and getting some great feedback.

I went "70s" last night and thoroghly enjoyed a Prawn Cocktail followed by Rump Steak and Apple Crumble! There is a lot of variety but it was quite nice to enjoy an old classic for a change.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portreath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The first thing you notice is ample parking. The second is the greeting, which is very welcoming. The book-in is quick and efficient. The rooms are clean and tidy and standard for hotels of this type....bed, shower, bath, flat screen TV. However no room safe, which was a shame. Maid service was very good.

Food - we ate in the restaurant and food was very good. Breakfast was also excellent. Once again, staff were 1st class. The bar does serve Real Ale, but only in bottles.

I think the main thing I noticed was that all staff were very well presented and polite, making you feel you were in a higher class hotel than just a Holiday Inn.....it made the stay more pleasurable.

My only real negative comment and this is a personal opinion, I was not too keen on the open plan reception, seating area and bar....it was very impersonal. It felt like sitting in a large waiting room similar to an airport....maybe some form of planting would break this up and allow for more intimate areas. However I would recommend the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenners-2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you.

And we will take your comments on board and look at how we can incorporate a few more intimate areas into our design.

Thanks again for the review - very kind of you.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing