We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Stay - Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling Stay - Avoid!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Room 52 has, what sounds like, a huge water cistern above it. The ceiling vibrates and the noise is terrible. Sounds like it empties and fills every 2-3 minutes. I complained to reception who, of course, claimed to know anything about it, but suggested it was probably the lift down the corridor "so there is nothing to worry about". I pointed out I couldn't sleep with that racket going on, but of course they didn't have an alternative room. I cannot believe I am the first person to complain about this, but rather than turn this noisy hell hole into a storage cupboard they continue to book it out hoping that you are either deaf or too timid to complain. I strongly suggest you stay in the Premier Inn across the road!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 52 better yet stay at the Premier Inn across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am so sorry that you were disturbed during the night. Sorry for the late response but I have finally got to the bottom of this. We had a new booster pump fitted to our main boiler a few weeks ago to help us get better shower pressure and save energy.

Because of your comments we have being investigating at all different times of day and have found that at certain times of demand it does make a noise louder than the previous.

We are now switching the pump back.

Thank you again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    234
    123
    51
    39
See reviews for
146
156
30
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is staffed by great people who tried hard to make my stay comfortable and pleasant. I really enjoyed how bright the hotel was and would highly recommend a visit.
A manager offering me a cup of coffee as I checked out was a first, but great. Even got a little chocolate bar with my bill which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzoubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review.

It is great to hear that you appreciated our little touches!

Hopefully see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to our family holiday in st ives. We chose a family room and the dinner option which allowed for a set 3 course meal from various options. Room was fairly standard one double bed plus one sofa bed nothing out of the ordinary. All staff were incredibly courteous, chatty and fantastic with our children (6 yrs and 15 months), the hotel provides toys/games for the kids, a small library of bedtime reading, free bedtime cookies plus the children both received a welcome pack containing things to colour, pens and sweets. Dinner was from a set menu within the general menu and all dishes had were very nice, breakfast had everything you could think of plus a pancake machine which really impressed our eldest. We also visited the pool at the attached health club which was fairly good, typical pool, very clean and you could also have used the gym but it did look.very small. I think if we visit st ives again next year this will definitely be where we over-night on the way down,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I hope that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday in St Ives.

It is great to hear that by staying here you added an extra night to your holiday!

Really look forward to seeing you again next year.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We have stopped off at this holiday inn when travelling to the south west before. Good location for the motorway and onward journeys. Always clean, friendly staff, good breakfast selection in the bright clean dining area. If you like to start, or end, the day with some exercise the small gym and pool are great, and free for hotel residents. Walking in the area very nice too.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to look after you many more times in the future.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed one night May 2013.A fairly new hotel,ideally located very close to the M5.Open plan airy reception/bar/restaurant.Room adequate clean and tidy with a pleasant en-suite,Breakfast buffet above expectations and dinner good.Our only minor problem was that at dinner we only ordered a main course and a bottle of wine-both of which took 35 minutes to arrive,The wine shoud have been presented earlier,and we also found the restaurant staff attentive but a little irritating when referring to us constantly as "you guys".Perhaps sir and madam would have been more appropriate,but this may be a sign of age!Overall staff were very helpful and check-in/out very efficient.A gym/pool is attached and included in the price.Free extensive car park and I would highly recommend this a a covienient stop-over when travelling to/from the south west or exploring the local area

Room Tip: Worthwhile upgrading to level above standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for posting such a nice review.

I am very pleased to say that we have used your review in a number of coaching sessions about expectations. Whilst we work hard to deliver a relaxed experience it is very important to me that we are always appropriate regarding our clientèle.

Thank you for bringing this up - and thank you again for your review.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We arrived on the Thursday afternoon to a friendly welcome.Our room was spotlessly clean and the shower was amazing after the trip up from Cornwall.The beds were so comfy and clean too.We ate at The Harvester the first night and enjoyed it so much the second night too.It is walking distance from Taunton which was a bonus.Breakfast was a good start to the day,we would definitely stay here again,thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for leaving such a great review.

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Myself, my wife and our son stayed here as a stopover on route to Cornwall and we couldn't be more happier with our stay at this hotel! The room was nicely laid out and travelcot as requested for our son was already in the room, set-up for use as well! We used the onsite swimming pool, though it had swimming lessons on for local children at the time, only half of the pool was out of use but this didn't matter. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice though the pancake making machine had broken on this particular morning, much to my wife's dissapointment but again this did not spoil it!

We will certainly consider staying at this hotel again, mainly for its convience of access from the M5.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk2010_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for such a kind review.

Look forward to seeing you next time!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing