We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diappointing Stay for £109 per night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Diappointing Stay for £109 per night”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Recently stayed here for three nights and was very disappointed with this hotel. Wifi was not complementary and breakfast was not included but was available at an extra £11.95 per day. The room I had aws a disabled sweet which meant the wash hand basin was at knee height for me. To top all this I cut my hand on the shower handle which had a ragged edge on top. Complained about this, got an apology but nothing else.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay.

Our rates and available room types do increase and decrease according to demand - however I am upset that you were disappointed during this stay.

Please do contact me on 07736 746098. I would love to discuss in more detail.

Thanks again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    235
    123
    51
    43
See reviews for
148
156
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for one night. We had a family room with 2 pull out beds for our 9 and 5 year old. Room was just a standard family room. It was clean and quite adequate size wise for what we needed. Perfect postioning for M5 if travelling down to Cornwall.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast - which was great, a good choice and self service. The kids loved it - especially the pancake maker! Dinner was so so (good choice again), nice polite waiting staff, just a little slow at times.

Had a poor/fitness room which was good - children enjoyed it. Lots of games and activity paper/crayons in bar to keep the kids happy.

Check in and out was very good, effecient and friendly with complimentary tea and coffee when you were departing.

Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havebabywilltravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and that the kids especially enjoyed the pancakes and the pool!

Just what's required to break up a long car journey - and I hope that we helped you start relaxing and enjoying your break even earlier!

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill-on-sea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We checked in as a group and they didn't have enough bedrooms, one executive room was booked at an extra cost of £25.00 per day for this you only get a 4 foot six bed a fridge and a Mars bar.
The food can only be described as appalling even if you did get it as they ran out of food one night if you were lucky to get food it had been under heat lamps for so long it was either scummy or rock hard and they couldn't even get the drinks order right.
The management staff are liars and seem to get so many complaints they just offer free drinks.
I have stayed at other Holiday Inns and they have been fine and well run.
After this experience never again even though a derisory sum of compensation was made.

Room Tip: To do not pay extra for an executive room it is an absolute rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cracker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I am so upset that we could not change your opinion of the hotel before your departure.

Following our discussion, and having refunded 100% of your upgrade charge and all costs related to the evening that we ran out of one of your choices, I had hoped that we had demonstrated our absolute commitment to guest satisfaction.

I do hope that you will still keep my business card and that some time in the future I shall be able to help restore your faith in the brand.

Many Thanks

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I checked in at about 7:30pm just for one night on the 17th June. Upon arrival I asked if I had been upgraded as I'm a Platinum Priority Club member. The woman on exception advised that they didn't have a record of my number - I took the booking form and circled it with my pen. She advised that they didn't have any executive rooms left.
However, later in the evening I went to reception to get a couple of pillows and I asked if I could have some water given that I couldn't have an upgraded room. Sophie on reception asked why I couldn't have an exec room. I explained the above. She said that they had three exec rooms available so I had been blatantly lied to. I am absolutely disgusted by this. It takes a long time and a lot of loyalty to maintain Platinum status.
Sophie was very good and sorted the water, pillows, bathrobe etc. She did offer me one of the other rooms but I had already unpacked and it was gone 10pm.
The burger I had for dinner was good. And the chips were very tasty. The room I was in was absolutely fine, apart from the fact that I could hear the man next door snoring so loudly. Took me a while to sleep. The room and bathroom was spotless which is the most important thing for me.
All in all a bit hit and miss but not enough to deter me from staying again if I had to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Great to hear that you will stay again and enjoyed your dinner and the general cleanliness of the hotel.

I am concerned to hear of your experience at Reception as we work hard to deliver a consistent approach and specifically focus on our loyal Platinum Members.

My Front Office Manager and Supervisor will certainly be using your feedback during forthcoming coaching sessions.

Please let me apologise and I look forward to us getting this right for you upon your next visit.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Room 52 has, what sounds like, a huge water cistern above it. The ceiling vibrates and the noise is terrible. Sounds like it empties and fills every 2-3 minutes. I complained to reception who, of course, claimed to know anything about it, but suggested it was probably the lift down the corridor "so there is nothing to worry about". I pointed out I couldn't sleep with that racket going on, but of course they didn't have an alternative room. I cannot believe I am the first person to complain about this, but rather than turn this noisy hell hole into a storage cupboard they continue to book it out hoping that you are either deaf or too timid to complain. I strongly suggest you stay in the Premier Inn across the road!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 52 better yet stay at the Premier Inn across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am so sorry that you were disturbed during the night. Sorry for the late response but I have finally got to the bottom of this. We had a new booster pump fitted to our main boiler a few weeks ago to help us get better shower pressure and save energy.

Because of your comments we have being investigating at all different times of day and have found that at certain times of demand it does make a noise louder than the previous.

We are now switching the pump back.

Thank you again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is staffed by great people who tried hard to make my stay comfortable and pleasant. I really enjoyed how bright the hotel was and would highly recommend a visit.
A manager offering me a cup of coffee as I checked out was a first, but great. Even got a little chocolate bar with my bill which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzoubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review.

It is great to hear that you appreciated our little touches!

Hopefully see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to our family holiday in st ives. We chose a family room and the dinner option which allowed for a set 3 course meal from various options. Room was fairly standard one double bed plus one sofa bed nothing out of the ordinary. All staff were incredibly courteous, chatty and fantastic with our children (6 yrs and 15 months), the hotel provides toys/games for the kids, a small library of bedtime reading, free bedtime cookies plus the children both received a welcome pack containing things to colour, pens and sweets. Dinner was from a set menu within the general menu and all dishes had were very nice, breakfast had everything you could think of plus a pancake machine which really impressed our eldest. We also visited the pool at the attached health club which was fairly good, typical pool, very clean and you could also have used the gym but it did look.very small. I think if we visit st ives again next year this will definitely be where we over-night on the way down,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I hope that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday in St Ives.

It is great to hear that by staying here you added an extra night to your holiday!

Really look forward to seeing you again next year.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing