We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor food and very basic rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor food and very basic rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I really only stay here when I really have to. The price is inflated and the general vibe of the place is very basic and nothing to really comment on. It's clean, it's a hotel, and it has rooms with food served. The staff are nice and clearly have a difficult job to do given their facilities. The Gym is good - I'm not trying to be negative about this place, but it's so basic its not really even worth a review. But it is clean.

Room Tip: It is a hotel with beds and a good gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Really glad that you find us clean - that's so important isn't it.

My team and I do strive to be so much more though. My facilities I understand are more functional than luxurious but I do hope that the next time you visit my team and I allow you to feel more comfortable.

Kindest Regards and Thank you for the feedback

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    227
    120
    50
    36
See reviews for
143
146
29
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel quite often, it's very convenient perched just off the M5. The hotel is fine, a bit tired maybe and need of a facelift, but generally pretty good. Mostly I go out to eat, but tonight arrived late and ate in. The food is really so poor, how can they not make more of an effort, I had ham terrine, which was straight out if the fridge, cold and flavourless, for the main I had steak and kidney pie, prepared, served with mash, prepared and FROZEN peas. I began to wonder if I had stumbled into a 70s theme night.

Basically everything is bought in and heated up, why can't they have a chef, this is supposed to be a 3 star hotel.

My advice, eat out!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your comments - but so sorry to hear that your dinner experience was less than great.

We are putting a lot of focus on dinner at the moment with new offerings and standards coming your way. I do hope that you will give us another try soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently with a group from our local National Trust for a visit to the area. The staff were so helpful and friendly that we felt we had made some new friends. It is always difficult to cope with a large group, we were a group of 36, but the food was delicious and a wonderful choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WNTMKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Great to hear that we looked after you so well.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very friendly staff! Jeanette was a delight to work with. I'm a business traveler and came for a week, when I needed to extend my stay during the Glastonbury festival rush she took away my nerves and took care of everything.
The bar and hotel restaurant provide good service and the food is also very good. Internet wi if signal was good through the entire building.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Wonderful to hear that you were well looked after. Jeanette will always go out of her way to help and is delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Ok so I have stayed here for this week - the same as the reviews seen below. I however I had a totally different experience.

Reception staff were kind friendly and efficient particularly Luke who went out of his way to be accommodating to myself and my colleagues - many thanks.

The staff were always friendly and despite the hotel being fully booked and very busy you wouldn't know by the speed and efficiency of their service.

I ate in the hotel and never experienced a lack of food. The breakfasts were great, quick to serve coffee/tea and it was no trouble for them to something fresh - big plus!! They also made an off the menu request for me at dinner, double plus!!

I too have stayed in many other holiday inns/crowne plazas/hotel Indigos and this one is up with the best (please see my other reviews I am always honest in my opinion).

The room was very comfortable and clean. If I had any complaint at all it is that the hotel is away from the centre but to be truthful for business purposes this made no difference to me.

I would definitely book here again If I am back on business.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith-Langs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - great to hear.

See you again soon

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
442 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Recently stayed here for three nights and was very disappointed with this hotel. Wifi was not complementary and breakfast was not included but was available at an extra £11.95 per day. The room I had aws a disabled sweet which meant the wash hand basin was at knee height for me. To top all this I cut my hand on the shower handle which had a ragged edge on top. Complained about this, got an apology but nothing else.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay.

Our rates and available room types do increase and decrease according to demand - however I am upset that you were disappointed during this stay.

Please do contact me on 07736 746098. I would love to discuss in more detail.

Thanks again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for one night. We had a family room with 2 pull out beds for our 9 and 5 year old. Room was just a standard family room. It was clean and quite adequate size wise for what we needed. Perfect postioning for M5 if travelling down to Cornwall.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast - which was great, a good choice and self service. The kids loved it - especially the pancake maker! Dinner was so so (good choice again), nice polite waiting staff, just a little slow at times.

Had a poor/fitness room which was good - children enjoyed it. Lots of games and activity paper/crayons in bar to keep the kids happy.

Check in and out was very good, effecient and friendly with complimentary tea and coffee when you were departing.

Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havebabywilltravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and that the kids especially enjoyed the pancakes and the pool!

Just what's required to break up a long car journey - and I hope that we helped you start relaxing and enjoying your break even earlier!

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing