We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas meal / party ...awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Christmas meal / party ...awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a disappointment ! £30 head for awful turkey dinner in hot dishes served in conference room. Forced together with boring tables of other work dos with no atmosphere for disco ! So few people rather than communal party room. Staff sped us through starters and main then we asked for gap between main and pudding but next moment it was all packed away so missed out ! Mind you the turkey slices were all placed on top of each other in gravy like a find us frozen dinner. We had 3 re heated hard roast potatoes, 3 sprouts and small spoon ful of carrots ...horrible. Such small portion and poor quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sara B,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    228
    120
    51
    36
See reviews for
143
147
29
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had a business meeting there, very convenient and use it quite frequently. This time decided to eat there as well. Not great, limited lunchtime choice, roast turkey carvery, salad or veg quiche, all of which had pre-prepared all over it. Good business facilities otherwise so a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurassictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Jurassictraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned our great facilities. However, I was disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here overnight for a Christmas party. On arrival reception staff couldn't find my booking even though it had been paid for. The older of the receptionists was rude and annoyed and when my husband told her we had already paid for the room she flung the booking list at him saying 'you're not on the list look for yourself". Thankfully the other receptionist was more helpful and found our details which they had spelt wrong! Our room was on the ground floor and smelt musty as did other rooms within our party.. The food was not great small portions and the sprouts were rock hard. Breakfast was just ok but we waited ages for a waitress to come and take our tea and coffee orders. I would not recommend this hotel. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
I am so sorry that we have been less than courteous upon your arrival. This is not our usual way at all.
Please do call me on 07736 746098 anytime in order that I may take action and make it up to you.
Many thanks for your feedback
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was so pleased with how our Christmas Party went, Julie in the Conference team was very helpful throughout the booking, and on the night made sure everything was ready for us before departing. The team in the evening were brilliant, really friendly, polite and helpful, the bar staff also were excellent with the service they provided.
I enjoyed my room provided, plenty of room clean and tidy, the breakfast was great, plenty of choice to choose from, I was impressed with the Spirit Health Club onsite, the staff again very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay or hold there christmas parties for next year, couldn't fault a single thing.
I have stayed in several 5 star hotels before and the customer service in this hotel was on par with plenty of 5 star hotels so all in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorest78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Party so much, and the buffet style of service that we adopted in December this year has certainly been really well received with lots of people coming back next year, when we plan to make it even better.

Thank you so much, and I hope that we see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

spent 5 nights and 5 days attending a course at this Inn.
Telephone Sunday morning as no confirmation of a booking had arrived. Asked if the could confirm my booking? BUT due to Data protection act???? the person i spoke too needed to get a college to confirm if they could tell me! any way arrived and settled in to a large room with all the basics. sat down to dinner, menu was basic, and limited on choice. ordered pork belly, all fat very little pork, cut into it to find it was still frozen in the middle, returned to the chef and replaced. or nuked? breakfast was well cooked! but offered a good choice. lunch was edible. dinner was good. Tuesday night, sat with another guest who was attending the course, ok main for me, but the hot pudding I ordered again was cold through the middle, returned and replaced. Wednesday both myself and guest had problem tummies! not what we needed in a training course! decided to go else where for dinner even though it was inclusive of the room rate. good places nearby which I will remember next time. no problem there after. until the Bill.

1 bottle of beer with each of my evening meals.. £26 ??? pardon I ask.. £3.19 a bottle plus £15 service charge for Tuesday ! pardon. because another guest was with me on my table on Tuesday I get charged £15. your having a laugh. sorted with the duty Manager. manager due to telephone me on Friday, surprise surprise, no call.

summing up.. friendly staff, clean basic rooms, poor food service. would i stay again? well you can get a travelodge with these amenities for well under half the price!

Room Tip: ask to be away from the garage or M5 as these are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Restaurant basic but very very overpriced. Fish & Chips average
Cheesecake very good
Staff good
Room clean very basic standard and disappointing for price
Bed uncomfortable
Noisy from M5
Breakfast average
Premier Inn's I've used are a much much better experience and value

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Olliewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Olliewise,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff being good, rooms clean and breakfast up to par with your expectations. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
501 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. My room was a little tired, especially the bathroom (the sink was cracked and needed to be replaced) but otherwise it was an average Holiday Inn room. Dinner and breakfast were fine - again the standard Holiday Inn menus, which are great for one night. The highlight of this hotel is the gym which is one of the best Spirit gyms I have been to. It was spotless and the staff were keen and motivated. The equipment is good.

I've noted others comments about road noise - it's next to a motorway, so I'm not sure what others were expecting (!) but I found the double glazing effective. All the staff I met were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear francophileonthemove,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing