We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a lovely break with our family at this hotel. We stayed from Sunday until Tuesday. The staff from beginning to end we amazing. We booked dinner and breakfast for convenience as we did not want to be looking for places to eat after long days out. The dinners were ok... We had a bit of a wait the first night but the staff were so apologetic and really nice. The breakfasts were great as there were lots of choices. We had a mix up with the final bill at the end but the reception staff sorted it out. We will definitely be staying here again as we felt really comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    229
    121
    51
    37
See reviews for
144
150
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mystras, Greece
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a surprise to find a relatively charismatic holiday inn hotel. Staying 30 to 40 nights a year in them i am actually becoming tired of the soulless,often grubby feel to these often over priced corporate take it or leave it attitudes to us business travellers.

At check in a very cheerful,helpful lady booked me in and then moved my room a few minutes later to an upstairs room that allowed me to open the window without fear of someone climbing in,yes the windows actually fully opened(take note Premier inns).

The large and welcoming lounge area with a decent bar was livened up with the arrival of the Essex cricket team who sat and ate their dinner with the rest of us in the communal lounge/bar area. You wouldn't see the pampered clowns who play football do that and what's more very few tattoos on view!

As with most Holiday Inns this hotel is situated away from much of interest but i did manage to find a decent pub about a five minute walk away, over the dual carriageway footbridge.

By and large it is a typically soulless hotel definitely catering for business travellers but it is one of the better hotels i have stayed in whilst on business but not really somewhere you would take your family to unless you are happy been overrun by corporate guests all on mobiles, laptops and telling each other how wonderful they are. I would,however stay here again on business.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an second floor room preferably facing the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusureitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear darlington1,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here the week before last for 2 nights. We can't speak too highly of the staff at reception, at the bar and in the restaurant. Everyone was courteous and helpful and did their best to make us feel welcome and valued. The room was a good size, nice and quiet, and the bathroom clean, modern and pleasant. The breakfast was really good - wide choice of food, hot and cold, and all well-cooked and presented. We made good use of the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna and found that a definite plus to our enjoyment. Another plus was not charging for the car park as we found some hotels do. We would definitely stay there again. Our only negative comments would be that the meals outside of b and b are somewhat overpriced, though tasty and we noticed that, at the end of our corridor, trays with dirty plates on from room service were left on the floor until well into the afternoon, from housekeeping having cleaned many hours before.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.com but were allocated twin bedded room rather than double which we asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwebb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a night while visiting our son. Perfectly decent hotel in a good location for both the motorway and the city (or is it a town??) and with the standards of cleanliness and service that you would expect from the IHG chain. There's nothing truly outstanding about it but I don't pay £75/night expecting "outstanding" - I expect "fit for purpose" - and this was. Would happily stay here again and recommend other to do the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Jonathan D,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked a family room. Hard beds :-( so avoid if you have back issues (hubby still sore)

Son's "Put you up" was rock hard and being a good mummy I swapped.

Apart from that though, it was a very nice hotel with excellent customer service.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Toodlepiptoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Toodlepiptoot,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you liked the service you received. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the beds you had. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

First time staying due to work. Open plan reception area, friendly staff at reception. Room very clean ideal for a one night stay. Coffee sachets bit limited, obviously cleaner forgot to top up.

Evening meal was very good, Surrey Rump Steak, good price as well. Drinks was reasonable as well.

Breakfast was very good as well.

Overall the staff was very friendly, did not use the gym. Very clean through out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unknown717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with colleagues. Friendly, helpful staff that made us feel very welcome. Great facilities, wish I had brought my gym and swimming gear. We ate in the bar, good food and great service from Luke. Room was clean and comfortable, would have liked a more powerful shower, but overall a good place to stay and would be happy to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenK297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
4.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing