We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel and restaurant but really good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 13 August 2014

this wouldn't really break any records as hotels go, the rooms were clean, bed was comfortable and the shower was good. I had a good nights kip. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast were ok, but nothing to rave about. The one major factor here was the staff. every member of staff I encountered were absolutely fantastic, polite, helpful and first class attitudes. Better than many 5* hotels and fancy boutique hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheezypeas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear cheezypeas1,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for one Friday evening, hotel was very busy, but staff coped well. You get the impression that the eating area, is slightly small for the number of bedrooms, so we had to wait a few minutes for the tables to clear, However the staff manage it well (and we did go down at the busiest time!).
Rooms and bed were comfortable, layout to the standard design, with free internet to club members. Plenty of car parking spaces.
Would recommend it £101 for two.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DickyTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good hotel with expected holiday inn standards met and surpassed throughout. Staff were very helpful and a keep a basic stock of toothbrushes, nail files ect at the reception free of charge. We made full use of the fitness suite whilst staying some of the machines were slightly dated but still served a purpose and were useable. The rooms were well decorated, had good air conditioning, comfy bed and powerful shower. The breakfast buffet was good, wide selection to choose from and even had a pancake machine!

Over all good short stop at the Holiday inn, will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 739Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here as a last minute break, couldn't get anywhere else in Somerset as everywhere fully booked, was happy to stay here as you know what you're getting with a holiday inn, however I was surprised to find it cost £154 for a double room for one night for what I would consider to be a budget hotel.

Having said that the staff were very friendly, we made use of the pool facilities (ladies changing rooms a bit dirty and public pool like) the breakfast the next morning was spot on and the room just what we expected and the bed was very comfortable.

All in all a very good experience and would stay here again. We also stayed on 26th July while the wedding was on and didn't find it affected us in any way, although we didn't have dinner in the restaurant like the other reviewer on here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Even though the Hotel was full we were treated as if we were the only customers, All staff were very helpful and took an interest , The purpose of the trip was fopr our Daughters wedding and although not at the Hotel could not have given us more assistance.
Front of House staff were excellent. Housekeeping also very good.
Staff prepared to go the extra mile, made the experience very relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ERDONN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good rooms, very warm welcome, but restaurant very disorganised. Although staff were all very pleasant there was no system so you might receive your order quickly or your waitress might go off & answer the phone/serve someone else & then realise that she should have put in your order!! Whist waiting you might get noticed by two or three waiters or none and the wait was always much too long (both ordering & receiving)! We felt forgotten and had to chase up all the time. We stayed 2 nights but ate elsewhere on night 2!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike191282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 26 July on a fully inclusive bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. When we arrived there appeared to be 2 wedding parties taking place. The room I cannot fault, modern and contemporary. We did however find long, dark human hairs all over the white towels in the bathroom, put us off a little, to say the least. The plug in the sink didn't stop the water running away, which is not very good if you are conscious of saving water.

We went down to dinner at just after 7 pm. We then waited 10 mins for someone to take our order, and then another 10 mins for our drinks to arrive. Just as we were about to ask when our starter would arrived, it turned up, 50 minutes after ordering. After our starter we then had to wait another 30 minutes for our main course. All in all it took us over 2 hrs to get all of our food. The waiting staff were excellent, but they were battling with the kitchen who were also preparing and cooking food for 2 wedding parties at the same time. There were a total of 15 people I think in the restaurant during the time we were there and everyone had to wait to be served. We were given complementary drinks and vouchers for extra reward club points but there were obviously not enough kitchen staff to cook for the large parties and for the restaurant who I believe would also like to be treated in the same way as the wedding parties.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear sue h,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find our level of service to your liking and truly sorry for the poor experience you had in the restaurant. We regret that these aspects have negatively impacted your overall experience with us. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the hotel's management and will be used to consider improvements where possible.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We all hope that you give us another chance so we can make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
845 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing