We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Staff excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 18 January 2010

I got home last night and wanted to review this hotel as we really enjoyed ourselves.
My fiance won a weekend away at this holiday inn, dinner & breakfast included. We arrived on friday and our room was ready so we dropped our bags off and went down to the bar for a drink. Drinks are expensive ( £14 for a glass of wine and a pint) so watch out! We had our evening meal and the service was good. The food was very nice and we booked a table for breakfast next morning. Our room was big enough, the bath was fantastic and although i was abit worried about the size/comfort of the bed( after reading previous reviews) it was great!
Breakfast next morning was good, had a wide range of foods. Kept us full! Short drive to Taunton, and very short walk to bowling/cinema etc. A friend had suggested we ate at a nearby pub in the evening but we weren't sure where it was etc. Reception were very helpful and even offered to book a table for us. Its called the Hankridge arms and its literally a 5 min walk. Great food and lovely location. We only had a snack and drink so we fancied something small when we got back. They sent us food up by room service, very quick and tasty.
Breakfast was good again next morning, check out was 12 so got a lie in which is nice on a sunday.
We didn't visit the gym & pool so I can't really comment. Other guests in the hotel had and they enjoyed it.
Overall, a really enjoyable stay. Staff very helpful and friendly, hotel lovely, great location as its near the motorway. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolate_lady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

If you cannot find a nice country hotel,give this holiday inn a try..nice rooms,pool,fitness centre and spa.If you are eating though,turn left off the car park and 1st right takes you to a Harvester.....save a fortune for a 40 second walk..

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolvesFordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Easy to find, located just off M5 jcn 25. Clean room well appointed with dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries and fridge. So what's the problem? Its the small 4'6" double bed that was hard and uncomfortable, seldom have we had such an uncomfortable nights sleep. Especially since we had paid for the 'Executive' upgrade, it was disappointing to say the least. On the plus side, breakfast good though a little expensive and gym pool and sauna facilities excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigididge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Used this hotel as a stop over on two consecutive weekends en route to a holiday in Cornwall. Have attended many meetings here over the years, never stayed, but was always impressed. Everything about the hotel is superb. Right on junction 25 M5 motorway, our room was brilliant everthing one would need , fantastic breakfast, and very helpful staff., and we thought exellent value for money . Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Very clean room - with a lovely black leather chair extremely comfortable. Great breakfast as always at Holiday Inn - super fresh fruit salad, and quality cooked breakfast. Lots of parking - just about walking distance into Taunton about 1 1/2 miles.

Only negative was the double bed which was small for 2 people of normal size (6 ft & 5 ft 10").

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We found the staff extremely friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Room was very nice and quite clean. All queries were dealt with promptly and quickly. We both found the food to be very nice, and quite imaginative without being over the top. Well presented too. All in all, we couldn't really fault it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicensweetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Rooms were very clean if a little expensive although the sofa in my room had seen better days. Bathrooms were spotless. Room TV had a bad signal.
Staff are very good and professional but room service didn't answer the phone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldeayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
676 reviews
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £69 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing