We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing great hosts don't miss out on this hotel if in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meryan House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meryan House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing great hosts don't miss out on this hotel if in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 4th April after my brothers funeral which was at the crematorium.The wake was 30 miles away in No mans land. But we came back to this hotel from reading the reviews. Cherry the owner was very welcoming and more than helpfull. We stayed in room 6 and my dad in room 5. We were delighted with the rooms very comfortable and luxurious. The on suit with nice deep bath with lashings of hot water. The sloping floors take a bit of getting used to,and no I wasn't drunk,but this just adds to the character of this grade two listed building. As evening meals are Mon to Thurs we were directed to the pub across the road. We were warmly welcomed there and Had a fantastic meal and service with good prices as well. we slept well the hotel is very quite and comfortable. The next morning we were treated to the most amazing service from Chloe and a fantastic breakfast consisting of grapefruit prunes cereals, followed by full English with thick back bacon eggs sausage mushrooms fried bread toms, with as much toast tea and coffee that we wanted.Would we stay here again, most certainly yes. One thing I would say is don't book through booking site. Phone hotel and book it's cheaper.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity, and thank you, for just taking the time to write a review, but an exceptional review is just outstanding, Chloe is over the moon and thanks you personally. we are delighted we came up, to and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    28
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
36
36
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trent Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

A friendly greeting from the owner as we arrived was much appreciated. The rooms are delightful and the breakfast choices were great. Lots of fruit and cereal offerings at breakfast and the full English cooked breakfast with local produce. Dinner was very good with lots of choices and a respectable wine list. The building is more than 500 years old and beautifully preserved, but with all the modern conveniences. An easy pleasant 20 minute walk in to the centre of Taunton. Plus, lovely walks around the village near the hotel. We will certainly use the hotel as a base when next in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we hope you have a safe journey home, and hope to see you again, when visIting the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the brilliant Meryan on our way to Cornwall, are tired and exhausted, aftera 8 hour drive, lay on the bed and woke 4 hoiurs later (never slept in a bed so good) by the time we got back down to reception the kitchen had closed and the satff home, that doe not stop Mrs Cherry Clark from feeding you, she put together a meal to dies for in 20 minutes, home made soup, steak egg and chips wow wow and a bottle of red to wash it all down, LOVELY JUBBLY
Breakfast is a feast in the morning, there is something for everyone, and if you want a cup of coffee to take with you on departure, the best of the best is the Meryan and so is the owners and staff.

Room Tip: We had room 8 rather nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angus53uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, our staff really appreciate comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this great hotel during the awful weather the uk had over the early part of February, we were attending a family members 60th, Birthday party, the owners and staff, are the most hospitable, I have ever come across, the Hotel is immaculate, the rooms decoratd to a veryhigh standard, and the food,is 5 Star we have booked another garthering of the clans for later on this year. Thank you once again for looking after us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest


We would like to take this opportunity, and thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel and the staff, we strive to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, many thanks again, our staff are over joyed with your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I recently attended a funeral of a friend, followed by the Wake held at The Meryan. There was a welcoming fire in the small room containing a tiny bar, which did not serve drinks until food and hot beverages had been served. We repaired to the larger room and felt an immediate drop in temperature, an inadequate fan heater battled manfully to create warmth. I was somewhat taken aback by the quality of the refreshments - rarely have I been expected to consume sandwiches constructed with white bread one side, brown on the other, all of varying degrees of freshness. The cakes were of average standard, homemade sponge cake raised the bar a little and my one small cup of tea was adequate.
The waitress service was fine and the ladies pleasant, once the bar opened with sporadic attendance, a number of us were stunned by the price of drinks.
I seriously doubt my friend received value for money and can only assume reason The Meryan conduct so many wakes is its proximity to the Crematorium!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie8588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We have requested more information about your complaint, three times, and you keep refusing to give us the details!!! on one occasion, you stated it was just an observation, not a complaint, we do want to discuss this matter with the immediate family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Went for a "wake" after a family funeral. Function room a little small and got very crowded.
However, the food was good and with waitress service which was vital as you would never have reached the tables with the food on them due to how crowded the room was. However, when we enquired about extra refreshments, which we knew we would be purchasing, we were told that the wine and beer was down in the cellar and did we REALLY want this... as the owner had to go down to the cellar to fetch up some bottles. That was when we were informed that "this is not a pub" - even though we were stood at a fully stocked bar with spirits. Then the question of glasses for the wine spritzers came up - tried to tell us that they must go in half pint glasses as there was no wine glasses - when this was declined she eventually said "Oh well I will have to go and get my best wine glasses and be careful with them." Later when another pint of beer was requested we had to go though the same ritual of going down to the cellar to fetch A BOTTLE. We shall certainly remember this "wake" and will try to remember that the Meryan Hotel is most certainly not a pub.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Good Morning

We have just received a copy of your review and, are disappointed and surprised at its contents!!!! we are not sure if you were the person who booked the hotel, as we always state, at the time of the booking, we cannot manage to run a bar with over 60 people wanting drinks, at the same time, hence the glass's of wine on the bar on arrival.we never know how many guests are going to arrive until they walk through the door,so if 40 guests were for and 80 turn up (which happens 90% of the time) we will be a little stretched, however, our main aim is to water and feed the guests, as per instructions from the immediate member of the family who booked the venue. we are viewing our security video at present, to see what day you were here, we think we have the day, but would appreciate you confirming the time and date, as we would like to discuss the matter with the immediate family. and we do appreciate your comments about the food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so charming. I stayed during December 2013 and found this to be one of the most delightful hotel in taunton. The food is excellent and the beds are luxurious. It's set approx 2 mins from the center of taunton and perfectly located whether you are in taunton on business or pleasure. I would defiantly recommend

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller250178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you, for taking the time, and the very positive review, you have given the Meryan, we really appreciate your kind words, and thank you, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
6.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.3 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meryan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meryan House Hotel

Property: Meryan House Hotel
Address: Bishops Hull Road, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Business Hotel in Taunton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meryan House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meryan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryan Hotel Taunton
Meryan House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing