We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family”
Review of The Monkton Inn

The Monkton Inn
Ranked #25 of 289 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional english pub and restaurant with a South African twist, offering dishes such as Crocodile, Zebra, Bobotie etc. We cater for all dietary requirements. We have a beautiful garden with children's play area. We are dog and horse friendly.
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Really good service and lovely food from South Africa, Really nice atsmosphere and just a great place to have family meal in really nice surroundings

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Westoner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018

,,after reading reviews , I thought I would take my two friends here for a special meal ! We were so disappointed..... we decided to have a main and dessert ..... two of us had pork chops which were really tough , one had sea bass and was convinced it was not fresh !..... dessert , two of us had apple and blackberry crumble, one with custard and one with clotted cream.... the fruit was warm the crumble was cold and very very gritty with quite large lumps of something unidentifiable !!! my other friend had a knickerbocker glory which she described as decidedly average....thankfully the service and the wine were good..... definitely wouldn't bother going again.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Con O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monktoninn, Owner at The Monkton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Very surprised to receive this review as i looked after you most of the evening, you were the 3 ladies from the NHS. You were all checked on and said everything was lovely, so lovely in fact that one of you took one of her pork chops home to have the next day. All that was left of the sea bass was a piece of skin. If you felt there was something wrong why didn't you say so. All the desserts were eaten, the lumps you were referring to is called crumble which is a homemade mix. If your meals were that bad, firstly you would have said something and secondly why did one of you take your chop home if it was so awful. You showed us your NHS badges and were given a 10% discount and again said how great everything was. What a coward you are to say that everything about the meal was awful in a review but said nothing at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Staying nearby at a B&B we were recommended to eat at this pub.
A wonderful experience. Owned by a South African and with a menu full of SA specialities including Zebra steak which I enjoyed very much!
Highly recommended but suggest you book

Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely village pub with a sunny bear garden, great menu with a South African theme, food was great with prompt service

Thank wilco813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We ate here whilst staying locally at a bed and breakfast.
What a gem it is.
Fantastic gin menu and an extensive food men, we enjoyed everything we ate.
It has a lovely atmosphere here and would definitely recommend.

Thank debbiefuggle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monkton Inn also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to The Monkton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing