We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quintessentially  romantic English farmhouse b and b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frog Street Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quintessentially  romantic English farmhouse b and b”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

A wonderful location resplendent in charm, great hosts who go the extra to provide 1st class service, to ensure your comfort. Delightful and sympathetic restoration of an old farmhouse . The food is wholesome and well prepared , local ingredients and daily fresh baked bread . The home made tea and cake on arrival is well appreciated and a nice touch . Beds are comfortable and spotless, Excellent hygiene management of mattresses ( so important but often overlooked in b and b.s ) . Delightful gardens and outlook . Lots of interesting history and pleasant local walk . A definite one to visit again .

Room Tip: Three rooms all with different aspects and sizes well appointed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
200
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Frog St Farmhouse, and it was excellent in every way. The rooms are nicely and charmingly decorated, spacious nice bathroom, comfortable beds. The breakfast was a perfect 'full English' plus home baked break and jam, fresh fruit etc.

It is a proper old farmhouse set right at the end of a single carriageway road, and has great views out over the well tended gardens and the nearby race horse farm. If you are looking for a rural location then this will fit the bill, it is only minutes from the main road however and you can be in Taunton for trips, dinner or even the cinema, in less than half an hour.

Finally, David and Louise were on hand every day with excellent advice and recommendations to make the best of our (rather rainy) trip. It is a lovely part of the world, and there is plenty to do even when it is tipping it down.

Room Tip: We had two rooms together sharing a bathroom, but with the second only accessible from the first, pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthgateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

After never writing a review despite using trip advisor for years to select the best accommodation, we felt this stay was well worth our first review We received a very warm welcomed by the hosts, David and Louise, along with the now much renowned tea and home made cake. Excellent location in the piece and tranquillity of the country side, we picked this location specifically due to the quite location away from the hustle of the town.
The room was one if the best we have stayed in, very clean, great shower, free wifi and sky (just like home). Breakfast was everything you could wish for and more. Final question, would we go again, absolutely. .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoonrising12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked out Frog Street for the night before and the night after our wedding because we wanted somewhere special for our close family to see the best of Somerset and of course a romantic location for our wedding night. It didn't disappoint. David and Louise were perfect hosts, and even stepped in ferrying a few guests when the wedding car broke down... Immaculate, tastefully decorated and very comfortable rooms that manage to balance modern living and some stunning period features perfectly. Good breakfast, friendly owners, lovely rural location. Tempted to stay there again, even though we only live 25 miles away....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyMcCluresTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here following an uncomfortable journey from Manchester, on the hottest day of the year.... With broken air con in the car! We were a bit shiny when we arrived but were instantly made to feel so welcome and shown into the beautiful cool farmhouse. Our room was gorgeous, comfortable and well equipped. Tea and cake in the garden watched by three curious horses followed by a meal in a recommended local pub. A great nights sleep and a fabulous breakfast rounded off a perfect stay. We wi definitely return to this lovely place. An absolute gem.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This lovely farmhouse is idyllic and makes the perfect B&B! It felt like a home away from home, we were able to relax and unwind after having a long and fairly stressful day. We booked the snug and it was bliss, to have our very own living room with log fire and rural scenes surrounding us, but still have the luxury of modern day living (sky TV and Wi-Fi), we felt very spoilt. David and Louise were very helpful and always had a smile, they booked us a table at the local pub (that was also very good!) and even printed off directions on how to get there. The breakfast was amazing, as was the excellent tea and cake on arrival. The hardest part of our trip was leaving this absolutely stunning place. We could not find a single fault with it and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The Snug was perfect for us as a young couple, but I am sure any room here would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

this place is wonderful.
charming hosts, helpful in every way, fabulous breakfast, spotless.
excellent value.
i wish all b&b's were close to being this good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siralex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
380 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
791 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Street Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Street Farmhouse

Property: Frog Street Farmhouse
Address: Frog Street Farmhouse Broadmead Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Frog Street Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frog Street Farmhouse is a 15th century Somerset Longhouse with plenty of charm and character. It is tucked away deep in the Somerset countryside yet only 6 miles from the County Town of Taunton. Here you will find character and comfort in equal measures. Outside, horses in the fields along with cows and sheep, riverside walks across the open farm land. Inside, log fires, original beams and Jacobean panelling and luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each individually designed to a very high standard and include Free internet and Sky TV. A full English breakfast is served using locally sourced ingredients where possible. Rated 5 stars with the AA, listed in both The Good Hotel Guide and Alistair Sawday's. Frog Street Farmhouse is not just a place to stay, its a place to enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Frog Street Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog Street Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing