We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding First Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frog Street Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding First Visit”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was mine and my partners first visit to the Frog Street Farmhouse and let me say after 3 delightful nights that we will definitely be back. David and Louise made us feel very welcome having tea, coffee and home made cake available on our arrival. We stayed in the Snug and were overwhelmed by the standard and quality of the furnishings and small details. The bed is 'Super Soft', bathroom was very clean with period fittings. The living room had a wood burner which was topped up by David and Louise when we were out of the building keeping the rooms nice and warm.

Breakfast was excellent with several choices, the home made full English breakfast featured their very own eggs and top quality bacon and sausage, finished off with home made bread and preserves.

By keeping the number of rooms to a small choice, all rooms are of the highest quality with an excellent service at competitive prices.

Room Tip: In the farmhouse we had the snug, excellent self contained room with own entrance and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
196
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Feb in the family suite. Farmhouse has plenty of character, the two bedrooms were spacious and well equipped, the bathroom smart and contemporary and the breakfast was spot on! The extra touches made this a special short break - home-made tea and cake on arrival to a log fire in the evening - a super B&B for a long w/e break!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winkypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the Willow room, which is a lovely cosy room for 3 nights.
David and Louise were very friendly and make you feel at ease.
Lovely peaceful countryside but not too far from Taunton if you want evening entertainment, but with lots of lovely country pubs so close by, you will probably not need to go there.
Also if you are a national hunt racing fan, there is a little bit of history there, David and Louise are very modest people so you will have to ask them what it is.

I booked this farmhouse through the recommendations of the other people on trip advisor and it was well worth it..

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed only one night in the Garden Room but would definitely stay again. This was a real home from home for us. From the memory foam mattress to the Laura Ashley soft furnishings we found this B & B to be very comfortable and peaceful. If you don't like to be away from urban life, this is NOT the place for you! The farmhouse is situated up a very rural lane and has no near neighbours. The views from the house are wonderful and the area is extremely quiet. Our room was not huge but full of character and the quality of the bed linen, fixtures and fittings and furniture was very good. Small touches like shower gels and tissues were welcomed. I forgot to check if a hairdryer was provided. Sky TV is available in the room and in the sitting room. The plumbing is slightly noisy when the tap is running but it wasn't a problem. Power points easily accessible for charging mobile phones or laptops. We were able to get a good signal on our O2 network in the bedroom but not in the sitting room downstairs. The sitting room (which is shared with other guests) is beautifully decorated - there is original Jacobean panelling at one end - and the log stove in the inglenook fireplace ensured the room was very warm and comfortable. We were lucky that we were the only guests that evening and therefore had the room to ourselves. We booked our dinner in advance and were not disappointed with the quality. Fresh, local ingredients, well cooked and beautifully presented ensured that the meal was enjoyable, as was our breakfast the following morning. We have stayed in some five star hotels that have not provided such comfort, so this was a real surprise for us. Looking forward to going back again!

Room Tip: The Garden room has a king size bed and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntlyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here. David and Lou are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were greeted with a tray of drinks and some home made lemon cake. We were in the garden room, which is our favourite with amazing views out over the countryside! We stayed here about 18 months ago and had the most amazing time, and this time was no different!Lou's cooking is to die for both for evening meals and a breakfast to set you up for the day. We chatted with some other 'returning guests' at breakfast and we will definitely be returning again - but we won't leave it so long next time!

Room Tip: Go for the Garden Room if you like luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsbelsplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is the second time we have visited the lovely David and Louise at Frogstreet Farmhouse, as a surprise for my girlfriend of 6 years. We stayed in 'The Snug', a self contained part of the house with a beautiful bedroom and bathroom upstairs, and a cozy downstairs living room. When the curtains are all closed, you can snuggle down in the plush leather sofa in front of the roaring hot fire and enjoy an incredibly romantic evening.
So romantic in fact, I got down on one knee and asked for her hand in marriage!!!
It was an absolutely perfect weekend, thanks again to David and Louise, we can't wait to come back again.

By the way, she said 'Yes'!

Room Tip: The Snug - an amazing couples get away, best enjoyed over at least 2 nights. Make sure you have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This premises was tucked away out of the way in Hatch Beauchamp in Somerset.
It has its own character and David and Louise were more than helpful, especially when I came to a flooded road on the way. He gave me directions to get to the Farmhouse. The place is warm and friendly with a great Log fire in the lounge.
With this premises you can have an option to eat in but have to give some notice, but as we stayed 30/31st Dec we decided to eat out. There are about 3 pubs within a 6 mile drive and are a drive away and down some of the tiny country lanes in the county. The breakfast is served at a reasonable time of your choice, and also of your choice, and that was a nice way to start the day.
Although tucked away it was very peaceful, and the nearest town was Taunton about 5-6 miles away. It’s a great location for visiting places nearby. If you like total peace and quiet then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Snug was downstairs and appeared to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Street Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Street Farmhouse

Property: Frog Street Farmhouse
Address: Frog Street Farmhouse Broadmead Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Frog Street Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frog Street Farmhouse is a 15th century Somerset Longhouse with plenty of charm and character. It is tucked away deep in the Somerset countryside yet only 6 miles from the County Town of Taunton. Here you will find character and comfort in equal measures. Outside, horses in the fields along with cows and sheep, riverside walks across the open farm land. Inside, log fires, original beams and Jacobean panelling and luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each individually designed to a very high standard and include Free internet and Sky TV. A full English breakfast is served using locally sourced ingredients where possible. Rated 5 stars with the AA, listed in both The Good Hotel Guide and Alistair Sawday's. Frog Street Farmhouse is not just a place to stay, its a place to enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Frog Street Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog Street Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing