We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frog Street Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay. We were made extremely welcome on arrival - tea and cake - and there was plenty of room, and indulgence, for our two small boys to run around. We stayed in the suite, which has tonnes of room - two big bedrooms, a beautiful bathroom, and a huge bed. David directed us to a pub for dinner and printed a map for us. We all slept amazingly well. Breakfast was delicious and our order for excessive numbers of eggs was served beautifully. We were on our way to Cornwall, but sorry we couldn't stay longer. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I just booked for the one night on our way to visit relations in Devon, David and Louise gave us a wonderful welcome the cake on arrival was delicious. They also put us on to a local pub where we had a wonderful evening before retiring to a beautiful room a great nights sleep and in the morning a great breakfast. We will certainly go again John and Lilian

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot, I stay in a multitude of different types of hotels and accommodation but this us by far one of the best place I have had the fortune to stumble across. I can not pick fault with anything, especially the hosts. The next time I travel to that party of the world, there is no doubt where I will be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hickpandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We wanted to go to Taunton for a weekend and we found this place and loved it immediately. Somewhere different, beautiful and quiet. We arrived and David and Louise were incredibly hospitable, a fabulous cup of tea and huge piece of cake were provided almost instantly. We asked for advice for the evening meal and they explained directions and even printed a google map for us. The room was beautiful, perfectly presented and lots of cosy cushions and throws. The bed was so comfy. Breakfast continued the wonderful stay, amazing amount of choice and whatever we wanted was no trouble. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic, but for a truly romantic escape, the snug is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt 'Moo' C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Frog St Farmhouse dates from 1436 and is a very interesting building. David and Louise were welcoming hosts. The decor is lovely and in keeping without being twee, sometimes hard to find in a B and B. The evening meal was excellent and the surrounding village lovely. A comfortable and friendly home from home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank debrapeter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you're reading this review it's probably because you're wondering whether or not you should book your stay at Frog Street. I can honestly say that you really don't need to read any more. Seriously. Just go and book it. My fiancee and I stayed for two nights in April and it was wonderful.

It's very difficult writing a review when you've had such a great experience. People get very suspicious when you can't tell them that there was something wrong, or that there was something you didn't like, but I simply have nothing negative to say. I've tried really hard to think of something, but... no.

Are you still reading? Not booked yet? OK, so some information. We stayed in the Willow Room. It was gorgeous. Fresh, clean, and modern but with some beautiful period touches such as the exposed beams and original stone wall. The bathroom was the perfect size - big enough that you didn't feel cramped, but small enough that you didn't feel cheated out of a bit of bedroom. The bed, despite being a brass frame, wasn't in the least creaky and the duvet, mattress, and pillows were bliss. If you're still desperate for some small crumb of negativity; OK: the floorboards are old, so the wardrobe creaked when we walked around the room. Did this bother us in the slightest? No.

David and Lou are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. They're friendly and happy to offer advice on the local area without being intrusive or cloying. Do you need a tip for a good local restaurant? Check. Want to know where to get the best Somerset cheese? Check. How about the prettiest beach or local beauty spot? Check. What's more they cook up a mean English breakfast - I've not had a better poached egg anywhere.

There's also a guest lounge which is furnished with some leather sofas you can just sink into and a cast iron wood burning stove. We decided to spend an evening in with a bottle of wine (which David and Lou insisted they put in the fridge for us before supply us with a wine cooler and glasses). Sitting in front of the fire (prepared and lit for us by Lou), and listening to some tunes on the TV (with full Sky) made for a wonderful evening. Oh, and I say communal lounge but with only four rooms (at least one of which has its own private sitting room) the chances you'll be disturbed are virtually nil.

So I'm, sorry if this sounds like a travel advert, but there you have it: Frog Street is idyllic. It's in the middle of some beautiful countryside so it's beautifully peaceful, but you're still only 10 minutes drive from the nearest town (Taunton). If you don't make a visit, you'll never know what an awesome time you just missed out on.

Room Tip: I think that if were to go again, we'd go for The Snug - private sitting room, what's not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Me and my pregnant wife spent three nights here and it was really nice. We were treated to a lovely cup of tea and a piece of cake on arrival and shown around the lovely house. David and Louise were very accommodating for my wife making her decaffeinated tea and coffee and making sure we were fed well at breakfast. Super place to stay and considering they accommodate people from all over the world its definitely worth a long weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boot2dcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
6.6 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Street Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Street Farmhouse

Address: Frog Street Farmhouse Broadmead Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Frog Street Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frog Street Farmhouse is a 15th century Somerset Longhouse with plenty of charm and character. It is tucked away deep in the Somerset countryside yet only 6 miles from the County Town of Taunton. Here you will find character and comfort in equal measures. Outside, horses in the fields along with cows and sheep, riverside walks across the open farm land. Inside, log fires, original beams and Jacobean panelling and luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each individually designed to a very high standard and include Free internet and Sky TV. A full English breakfast is served using locally sourced ingredients where possible. Rated 5 stars with the AA, listed in both The Good Hotel Guide and Alistair Sawday's. Frog Street Farmhouse is not just a place to stay, its a place to enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Frog Street Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog Street Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing