We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet hotel. Central location. Not many staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taunton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taunton House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel. Central location. Not many staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 'Superior' room for the same price as a standard, on a Monday night. The room had a 4 poster bed!! Lovely. Not many staff, but the two I saw were helpful and friendly. One negative was that room service food orders closed at 8pm. Which seemed early. Central location for the town centre. supermarket across the road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    46
    18
    14
See reviews for
23
55
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is a nice hotel not enough staff as you have to look for them when you want service in the bar and reception area. And no one around later in the evening and i mean no one.If you need someone you have to ring a emergency number but no one answers as we had people locked out of there rooms and they had to sleep where they could but they did leave there key in there room.But i still think you should have someone on sight at all time.We had a nice room plenty of drawers and hanging space bathroom was very clean.BUT OH when we pulled the cover back on the four poster bed we had a matted old blanket they really need to do something about this as we took it off i couldnt sleep under that Why when you pay £95 for a room and not a bad room could you not put a nice duvet on it. BREAKFAST was fine but again not enough staff.They did there best and for that we thank them very much under pressure but still a happy smile and very pleasant manner.

Room Tip: ROOM NUMBER 10 four poster as long as they get rid of that blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Friendly staff and nice welcoming hallway and reception.
Our room was on ground floor, it was nicely furnished, clean and well decorated.
The bathroom was small but very clean and had lovely fluffy white towels.
The bed had crisp white quality sheets and was a very comfortable king size.
Nice bright small bar with large TV.
Nice dining room and good cooked breakfast with juice and cereal.
It was quiet at night even though on quite a busy road.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. The location of the hotel really could not be better placed, we are very fortunate, thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Wouldn't class this as a hotel but a very good bed and breakfast. Clearly the place had been recently redecorated. Smelt very clean and fresh when you walked in the front door (after ringing the bell and waiting for someone to answer - hence B&B not a hotel) Rooms were clean, bathrooms were good (although room 8 had the noisiest loo and associated plumbing known to mankind. I felt sorry for the people in the room next to me) Everything was fresh and clean although some of the bedspread and curtain choices were questionable (purple bedspread and red carpet?) but it didn't matter - we were there 1 night.

I guaranteed my booking with a credit card a week before arrival but was told on arrival that my room had been given away so I had to have a different room. Not what you really want to hear after a 4 hour journey.

Breakfast very good.

All in all - better £60 here including English breakfast cooked to order than a £49 Travel Lodge room plus breakfast if you can find it in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOM186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for your comments and noted. We have now updated to ultra modern silk fibre duvets, appreciated by many guests. We are in the process of fitting a new front door system so the guest will no longer have to ring the bell. Hope to welcome you back soon to see the updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We found this hotel very acceptable. It was warm, clean and nicely furnished. Our room was a reasonable size and was equipped with everything we needed. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast fine. I would not hesitate to recommend it and would happily stay there again. It is conveniently situated for the town centre. Only slight downside - it is on a road which is busy most of the night, and there is no lift.

Room Tip: It is quite a steep climb to the second floor - older customers might prefer lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnolia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel standard room on ground floor 9/10. Bathroom OK but in need of a little attention 7/10. Nice bright clean breakfast room. Excellent service. Well cooked English breakfast but no continental option 9/10. Good location. Other hotel services, but limited. Good for a night or even two. Would consider using again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I needed a place in Taunton for 1 night for a party. Wanted walking distance to town centre, breakfast and parking. The Salisbury ticked all the boxes but previous reviews concerned me. However, it all worked out rather well. We booked the "four poster bed" room as it was only a few quid more. Welcome was friendly, room and en-suite a good size. All clean and fully functioning. Hotel looks newly furnished and decorated with some nice "church" like characteristics. A 2 minute walk and we were in the centre of Taunton. Breakfast was freshly cooked and nice also.
Overall couldn't fault it. The only downside is that it is on a fairly busy road. Our room was at the back so if you get a room at the front the noise may disturb.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.6 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taunton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Property: Taunton House Hotel
Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Taunton House Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing