We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but clean and comfortable Very well situated and reasonable value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taunton House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We arrived very early at the hotel (about 11am) and my husband popped in to find out when we would be able to check in. The guy he spoke to was very helpful and said that although our room was still being cleaned, we were welcme to check in right away, leave our bags in the room and our car in the car park. He gave us our keys and said the cleaning would be finished in about half an hour and we would be welcome to return then.
When we did return to the room we found it was a good size and it appaered that the walls and woodwork had been painted very recently. The decor was a little dated, featuring a range of contrasting patterns, but the bed was comfortable (although we would have preferred a duvet to the rather elderly looking blanket.) and both bedroom and shower room were clean. The shower was good, with plenty of hot waer available. Our room was at the side of the hotel overlooking the car park, but was not too noisy. The view was not great, but we weren't bothered by that.The windows are double-glazed and the curtains blacked out the street lights.
We were fairly early for breakfast and hot drinks and cooked food of our choice was promply served by a very pleasant young waitress. Cereals, juices and fresh fruit were also available and extra drinks and toast were offered.
Other than the man seen on the first day and the breakfast waitress, we didn't see any other staff throughout our stay, which seemed a bit strange, but cleaning was done very adequately by someone in our absence. We had a key to the front door so let ourselves in and out. There was a lounge, but we didn't use it and the menu for evening meals was rather restricted, so we ate out.
This hotel is clean, comfortable and has its own style, which may not be to everyone's taste. However, our stay there was fine, The hotel is conveniently situated, the price seemed reasonable and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dikay32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

If we hadn't had to pay for this experience I would almost have found it amusing in a Dickensian way. One positive about this hotel is its location which is very central and in a safe area of the town-although there is a lot of road noise so try to get a room at the back. Having studied the building there are no views to be had so you won't be missing out on vistas! There are many curious things about this place and the way it is run. Firstly, we were treated with what can only be described as susspicion by the gentleman who let us in (they seem to operate a fortress mentality so you are forced to ring the bell at the door for attention). We were quized about the nature of our visit which went some way beyond polite interest. We were then sent up seemingly endless flights of stairs to a hot room which smelt of damp. We were short of a towel and it proved difficult to find a staff member to help us. The gentleman who let us in had vanished and eventually, after calling out loud from the reception, I found a depressed looking member of staff in the kitchen area who sluggishly pootled off to provide me with a towel. There are two 'public' areas. The dining room where you eat breakfast (OK but not memorable in any way) and a grim study are where one might expect to find a Colonel Blimp type propped up in one of the dated arm chairs. Evening meals are available by request but are visibly microwaved and served without flourish. There is nothing wrong with this hotel in theory. It is functional in a 1980s way and is clean enough. It is just dated and has an unshakable air of unhappiness which is hard to ignore. The staff are a combination of bored, listless and doubting. We were advised that we should eat breakfast at 8am-despite the fact that they serve until past this time. Apparently it 'makes things easier' for them-and this hotel is not that cheap. That sums up their attitude in general-they don't seem to want to be troubled by you. Atmosphere is a real issue here-a deathly silence hangs over all the public areas which makes breakfast an awkward occassion indeed!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed here for the one night on a business trip and decided to take in a 20/20 game at Somerset CCC hence I didn’t spend a whole load of time in the hotel. I had a superior room which was fine but a little dated in both decoration and furnishing. The TV for instance was one of the old CRT type. The hotel is on a very busy road but my room was quiet despite having the windows open due the warm weather. It had a view over the car park for the adjacent church. The room was both clean and comfortable, the two most basic qualities of any hotel room.
Both the bedroom and bathroom were much larger than usual and even with a table and a couple of chairs and the large bed there was still plenty of space. There is a free car park which is a necessity as the hotel is very close to the centre of Taunton which is about a 2 minute walk away. The cricket ground is about a 10 minute walk so makes this a good place to stay if attending a game. The route is a little tricky but the cricket club is next to a church with a large spire, as is the hotel. Simply follow the spires in either direction and you can’t go very wrong.
I only encountered two members of staff, a nice gentleman who checked me in and a nice breakfast waitress both of whom were pleasant enough, especially the gentleman who took the time to chat about the cricket. I only went for tea and toast at breakfast so can’t really comment on the food but what I had was served very quickly.
There is free wi-fi in the hotel but I couldn’t get a signal the room however I did see people using laptops in the lounge so perhaps I was just out of range.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rondotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Not sure who is writing the reviews of this 'hotel' but maybe I was at a different place. It is very dated and tired, the standards of cleanliness are disappointing, and my room -- butt up against the car park with a view of a coach - smelt damp. Also unwelcoming (eg. a hand written note in the room guide said you must come to breakfast at the weekend by 8am or your meal will be delayed. I thought that sort of thing went out in the '60s.) Sorry to say it - I like to support non-chain, local hotels - but this is not somewhere I could recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
style11, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay, the hotel bedrooms room are redecorated every 12-18 months, the lounge and restaurant both only 4 months ago. Perhaps you are confusing traditional with a boutique style hotel.

In the guest information folder there is a comment kindly advising guests that Sunday mornings historically can be busy, as guests choose to have breakfast later. Our breakfast times are 7.30 am to 9.30 am, clearly written in type print.

The Salisbury House hotel is fortunate to offer a generous car park albeit not a splendid view does however compensate for the benefit of being able to park in the town centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We were staying overnight for a wedding the next day, and were pleasantly surprised to discover the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre - very convenient for high heels.

Rooms are a lovely size with all the facilities you would expect and the beams really do add character and charm to the hotel. Very tasty and sufficient breakfast and the staff were pleasant and helpful, providing us with details of local taxi service and overall stay was very comfortable.

It is a good 30 minute walk from the train station, so anyone arriving by train, particularly with suitcases, I would advise to get a taxi.

Would definitely stay at the Salisbury House Hotel again if ever in the Taunton area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PleasantStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Clean, comfortable, classically-styled hotel just walking distance from the centre of Taunton. Plenty of parking. My room was very spacious, and quiet despite the busy road on which the hotel sits. Breakfast was adequate rather than generous and the staff quietly efficient rather than warm and welcoming. If I was looking for things to criticise I might say the Salisbury House was a bit mechanical and soulless, but I was just looking for comfortable overnight accommodation at a fair price and was not disappointed here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickenbacker_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We keep popping into this hotel for a couple of nights now and then for various reasons. Each time we visit we are impressed with the warmth of greeting from the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, the lovely breakfasts and the general ambiance. It's an oasis of calm in the centre of a large busy town.

It's no wonder we keep coming back, because, apart from what I've said above, the shops in the centre of Taunton are but a 5 minute walk away as the icing on the cake. Thank you for looking after us so well once again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluemoonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
5.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taunton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Taunton House Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing