We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boxing Day Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

As a chef I had heard of The Mount Somerset Hotel for a number of years and had wanted to visit and try the food. Luckily I was invited by the girlfriends parents to join them on boxing for lunch. I wasn't disappointed the decor of t,he lunge area is lovely and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food was very good, I had the leek and potato soup, roast sirloin of beef and pain au chocolate for dessert. It was all lovingly presented and not over seasoned I would have to give the food 9/10 only missing top marks as the carrots were penny shaped ! But don't let that put you off its a lovely place and I can't wait to go again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GRamsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

I booked my two night stay from Secret Escapes. When my boyfriend and I checked in at 3PM we were told by the receptionist that our room would be ready in 10 minutes however 25 minutes later the room still wasn't ready. As part of our secret escapes deal we were supposed to be offered cream tea on arrival. This never happened, About 30 minutes later our room was ready. Our room was lovely and very clean. The bathroom was FANTASTIC and again very clean. The bath was gorgeous.

At dinner we were given the wrong menu to look at and midway we were brought the set menu and were told if we want to order from the ALaCarte menu we would need to pay more in front of the other diners... How embarrassing. Furthermore we ordered pea soup but when our soup arrived it was the wrong one and when I told the waitress she seemed disinterested and hesitant to bring the correct soup out so sensing that we said to her not to worry about it. The staff were not friendly neither professional. I feel this hotel is not value for money because the service is not very good at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AAJM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Myself and 2 friends, based in Cornwall, Wiltshire and Gloucestershire, meet up every few months ideally in Somerset/north Devon. I spotted a Travelzoo deal - £49 for 2x 30 min spa treatments each plus use of the spa facilities plus a hot drink or glass of prosecco and cake. It sounded ideal!
We decided against staying overnight at the hotel purely based on cost so we ended up at the Travelodge on the other side of the M5 - extremely basic but affordable at £13 for the night each!!
We all met in the hotel's lounge which is a beautiful room (well two originally) and we were lucky to get the seating right near the fire - perfect on a wet & windy November day! We enjoyed some great sandwiches even if they were a bit pricey.
We then moved on to the spa. We all had a 30 min back, neck & shoulder massage and a 30 min facial, which we all enjoyed immensely!
However the spa itself is very small and the facilities very cramped. It consists of converted stables. Upstairs is where the two treatment rooms are. There is a locker room and a female changing room, together with a relaxing area. Although there were fruit teas and water, we were expecting the latter to have newspapers and lots of magazines but this was not the case. The changing room consists of one loo, one shower and a small bench for changing purposes. If you've got more than one person in there, it's crowded! A bit difficult when, in addition to us 3, there was at least another 6 females using the spa that day!!!
Downstairs are the 'wet' facilities - which I found great. A jacuzzi, a sauna, a steam room, 2 foot spas and showers, including a Caribbean shower - beware!!
We then went back to the lounge to enjoy our glass of fizz and cake.
All in all we had a lovely time and didn't want to leave to go to our Travelodge (surprise, surprise!). I would go back if benefitting from another deal, but I think other spa hotels in the area provide a better experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeckyFoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

A two day break mainly for my friend who is recovering from a knee opp.Excellent room, very clean and tidy and the attention to detail from the staff was first class.Plenty of parking room, and very nice gardens and views.The health centre/fitness section was clean, well run and all the facilities worked very well.
The down sides? Well, the hotel looks a little tired inside and when the charges here are so expensive, you would have thought that decent toilet rolls could be provided instead of some cheap 'put your fingers through them' stuff.Buying drinks are to be avoided as £15 for a single brandy and martini is really over the top ! Breakfast was let down a little by out of date yoghurt (by 4 days) still being on show for two days !! it was only removed when I pointed it out to the staff. All in all a pleasant stay but let down by small noticable items and lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASHLEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic break.

We had a garden deluxe room with it's own private hot tub and patio which was fantastic. The room itself was huge and spotlessly clean. Lovely homemade biscuits were a nice touch and the evening turndown was appreciated. Very comfortable bed with a good quality mattress( my boyfriend sells beds and always embarrasses me by stripping the bed to look at the mattress-he was impressed for the first time I can remember!) Gorgeous bathroom and toiletries too.

We had booked for dinner both nights and after after our first night when we realised that the food was really special we upgraded to the tasting menu for the second night. Truly fantastic food and beautifully presented. The chef even made us our own desserts based on our preferences which were delicious. Yes the dining room is quiet but on a romantic getaway this was nice and meant we got incredible service. The lady there who was running the dining room deserves a special mention for being so fabulous with wine choices and friendliness. Room service food was lovely too and breakfast was great with a huge choice of cooked options.

The spa is good, lacking a place to relax with a book but clean and with excellent facilities. We had lovely treatments from professional staff and left feeling completely blissed out!

Nothing here is too much trouble and staff go out of their way to look after you. We aren't easily pleased and we cam safely say that we have found our favourite hotel and hope to visit again very soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I love, love, love The Mount. It's our favourite hotel. We've stayed here many times and always book a Garden Room with a hot tub which is to die for. Dinner is wonderful and we've had lots of fun chatting to other guests in the lovely, chilled out bar. Sitting in the hot tub outside gazing at the stars never fails to be wonderful and it's the perfect in-between spot on a trip down to Cornwall. Completely worth the money, it's a real treat. Go there - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have hot tubs and are completely wonderful - there are only two so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasideFan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

stayed here before. Garden room at £214 but being winter did not use the outdoor hot tub. Good welcome and personal service. Nice and quiet compared to the Castle in the centre of Taunton. Plenty of parking. and storage for bicycle. Breakfast service has improved since our last visit 8 months ago. I had dinner c £25 from the all day menu which was half the price of the a la carte, 3 courses for £49.50. Hotel full. Very upmarket. Always enjoy it there. It has sauna and steam room.

Room Tip: the more you pay the better you get. but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
704 reviews
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
18 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £95 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including three AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four red AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing