We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you are wondering whether to stay here, I would definitely recommended it. The service was well above 5 star and every member of staff went above and beyond to make sure we felt right at home. We stayed in the Deluxe room and they were very large and with a cosy modern look. The bathroom was pure luxury with a extra large walk in shower and stand alone bath. For that extra special touch the staff would come and turn down your room in the evenings and top up an refreshments. The reception staff were absolutely amazing and ready to help all the time. We were treated to breakfast in bed both mornings which was a nice treat. We dined at the restaurant on the first evening, it was simple food, but nothing to write home about. The dinning room was so quiet with only 6 diners, we found it lacked atmosphere. However this was the only part of the hotel that could do with an improvement. There is a spa and gym and acres of open country side to walk of a nice meal and soak up the fresh air, so definitely book a relaxing few nights away here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarti_arti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    182
    74
    47
    22
See reviews for
101
360
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed as the Mount Somerset recently for a family wedding. The location is lovely and the staff are very polite and helpful. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast menu. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the iron and ironing board in the room was very much appreciated as we had come a long way with wedding outfits in our luggage.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, which had twin beds and plenty of room to move around in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Last time I stayed here it was for my wedding in 2006. Nothing's really changed in that it was wonderful then and is wonderful now. I was put in the Barrington Suite again, with its wonderful (refurbished) bathroom, huge living area, massively comfortable bed and cosy yet spacious feel. The food at the restaurant was super delicious using fresh local produce. Drinks next to the roaring fire were great and service was attentive and engaging without being intrusive. Nothingwas too much trouble.

I can't wait for my third visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed two nights on a Secret Escapes deal - B&B, dinner the first night, a free bottle of house wine & a cream tea. This hotel can hardly be faulted; the decor is great & subtle, the public rooms quiet and our room (A deluxe) was lovely. A very large bed, a very comfortable sofa, good furnishings and a tremendous en-suite with a roll top bath & walk-in shower. Dinner was very good but I'm glad we didn't have to pay the set price of £42.50 for two courses. Room service was very quick & efficient and nicely priced. A bonus was a complimetary morning newspaper. We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tidmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Relaxing on very comfy sofas in front of a roaring fire with the blistering sunshine beaming in through the windows... Yes it felt very very special even though we were only there fore two hours. Staff were friendly but not over bearing and the afternoon tea was a delight! Some of the food was amazing and some was okay. Nevertheless, overall we would go back and do the same again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I visited The Mount for afternoon tea as a special treat for my Mum and Auntie. Everything was very good; service was excellent, surroundings so cosy with wonderful views across the countryside, and the choice and quality of food was excellent. One problem though, one of the orders was for Vegetarian choice of sandwiches which should be absolutely no problem whatsoever, however the vegetarian option included two sandwiches , one with tuna , the other with smoked salmon !!! Whilst the hotel were very apologetic and replaced the non vegetarian sandwiches, this sort of mistake is not acceptable. This mistake would not deter me from visiting again, but please be aware if you are a veggie !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smiley_Happy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at this stunning country house for a wedding anniversary night away and it was absolutely superb. We initially rang up to book dinner and my husband chatted to the friendly reception staff who convinced him that a night away would be even better than dinner, so we decided to go for it! The suite was utter luxury with an unbelievably comfortable bed, sofas and the bathroom with its double showers was the last word in opulence and such a treat. Fluffy dressing gowns, lovely toiletries, magazines and every detail perfected, this is the ideal place for a real treat and has to be tried! We had drinks the bar downstairs (more like a Salon) and dinner was outstanding too, so I cannot find fault. Just wish we could have had a week of this treatment! Recommended 100%

Room Tip: Barrington Suite is a must if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
634 reviews
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing