We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mount Somerset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“still very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

David and I thought we would finish our holiday fortnight with a visit to our favourite west country hotel (£225 a night b&b for a garden room). Not quite as welcoming as last time but ok. Different staff? We did not have dinner there as last time we thought it was overpriced. Breakfast was very good in the conservatory but my bacon was inedible(similar to what another reviewer said). We usually adjourned to the lovely big lounge to read the morning papers and enjoy the view. Weather wet Saturday so we went to Street to look for bargains and found them in Austin Reed and Yaeger. We used the Spa suite and enjoyed the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Foot spa was beyond us. Maid service was excellent with fresh towels etc twice a day as required and bed turned down . We will return.

Room Tip: pay a little more and get a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    175
    71
    44
    20
See reviews for
99
337
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Before booking this trip I looked at Trip advisor and nearly decided not to go. How wrong that would have been. From the beginning to the end of our stay from 9-11.4.2013, everything was fivestar. We were upgraded to a deluxe room, and made full use of the spa. Dinner in the two rosette restaurant on both nights was excellent. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly from check-in to checkout, even the gardener. The hotel has a new general manager and it is in tip top order. If you want a romantic, relaxing break in lovely surroundings. Book here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian499608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Myself and wife stayed at the Mount for a night late march as it was close to Taunton with out in the town its self. The hotel and groungs are like from a postcard and beautiful, the room we had was clean and of a good size. However the food and service were not of the same standard. We waited for which seemed an age for a table and it didnt seem that busy and when we asked how long it would be the staff seemed upset by us even asking. When the food did come it was of a ok standard but missed the Wow factor we expected. The desserts were bland and over set almost rubbery. When we mentioned it to the staff we got a shrug and nothing more. Lovely setting but wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 365tomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

wow! i was not expecting this to be so good, on a weekday lunchtime husband and i went to the spa first which is lovely but small; it would be good to have more seating/lounging area as it is very 'intimate' in the small seating area and we had to sit with an old lady so akward to relax. the food was heaven, i had fish which i do not normally do as have had many disappointments but it just melted and my mouth was tingling with fresh herbs and subtle spices; something which is a sign of good food. The decor is lovely and service unassuming, good and discreet. well done and will re-visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carogDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is lovely the rooms are out of this world and the staff are fantastic nothing to much trouble. It's quiet but easy to get to town if you want to shop. The spa is small but enough for a couple of hours relaxation. Beauty treatments are well worth having to complete your stay. The food is perfect plenty of choice. We spent two nights enjoyed it so much stayed an extra night and will defiantly return. Can't speak highly enough of all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEW158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed over this Easter break, arrived Saturday 3pm, reception staff efficient but not over friendly, escorted to room west Hatch which over looked the Spa entrance. Nice well appointed room, walk in shower, roll top bath, oodles of hot water, nice fittings on shower taps etc.Booked evening meal in restaurant but we "mistakenly" wandered into restaurant and was immediately told by off hand waiter to "Vait in za bar!!" We did as we were told but did speak to reception as to the lack of instruction on how to behave!!! Food was good, not fantastic but none the less of reasonable standard. Wine prices were not "deep intake of breath" territory! booked a full body massage for Sunday, Emma was very good BUT the spa area is so small! Jacuzzi, foot spas x2, sauna & steam room and thats it, relaxation room upstairs is at best a waiting room for treatments.Overall not a bad break for price, excellent rooms, reasonable food, maid service was excellent, turn down service (would not have been able to get into bed without!!), nice touch.

Room Tip: Go for The Barrington, its prob the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_burton433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Mount Somerset for one night just before the Easter weekend as a spa break. Upon arrival we were both tired and the reception was warm and friendly and she was really helpful. She popped us in the lift (we had luggage) and met us on the first floor to show us to our room, which was beautiful. High ceilings and huge windows, decorated perfectly. Gave a real warm inviting feeling. The bathroom was also a good size with a walk in shower. We ordered room service as we were so tired, and the food was totally out of this world!! Perfectly cooked and the right quantity. The fryer was broken and i wanted a simple burger, so they cooked me sauteed potatoes which were done to perfection, and the burger truly was the best burger i have ever eaten!! My partner had the lamb, and this also was cooked perfectly! After having showers, the only complaint about the shower was that the glass screen wasn't long enough, and that the water dribbled around that on to the floor - but hardly a big issue as a guest!
In the morning we had cooked breakfasts, which again were amazing!! Perfect, and so much flavour! Good selection also of cold meats and cheese, and cereals and juice etc.
We then went over to the spa, and had back and shoulder massages which were super relaxing. Spent the day using the spa facilities. Is very small in there so was quite nice that not many people doing the same. We then got some lunch at the hotel, which again was lovely, we ate this in the lounge whilst playing backgammon. The staff were really helpful and everything was very professional and they seemed to really care about their jobs and be happy and content. We then went and had facials which again were lovely - save for me starting to fall asleep!!
Was a perfect romantic mini break, with beautiful views and generally just a lovely place to stay.
Would recommend the chocolate brownie - amazing....!! Hats off to the chefs! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
19.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing