We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit like a Faulty Towers operation but lovely building with nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bit like a Faulty Towers operation but lovely building with nice rooms”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed on a business basis with my partner our room and board was paid for by a host company. First impressions at reception looked good but really there were two ladies on reception who tried to be efficient but failed... We were booked in a single room? That was quickly rectified but it was a bit embarrassing. We were shown to our room but no information was given ref breakfast etc.
The drinks here are very expensive and the bar is very small, there was a large group of us and it took a very long time to get served 2 x 175ml wine 1 x malt and 1 x gin and tonic £22.00....
The breakfast if you want a full english is £17.50 per head.. Vastly over priced. 2 poached eggs, 2 bacon one mushroom 3 slices of a new potato and half a tomato!!!! My partner travels all over the UK and Europe on company business and he really was shocked at the cost of breakfast. It looked nice on the plate but nevertheless way over priced.

Now the room... Very clean and some lovely touches with the robes and slippers etc. However its far more important to have hot water in the shower. I had to run the shower for 20 minutes to get it luke warm. They must have problems with the plumbing as the noises it was making through the night was quite loud.
Finally we went to check out and there was no internet or phones so we had to pay with cash for our extras....
Overall a lovely building with very clean rooms and some lovely touches in the rooms.

Room Tip: Remember to look your room door when you leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    182
    75
    47
    22
See reviews for
101
360
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a great find this hotel was to meet up with family. Sunday lunch was delicious, tasty generous portions and served by exceptionally pleasant and helpful staff. The hotel itself was lovely, very comfortable surroundings - my sister in law stayed the night and commented on how comfortable the hotel was. To sum up, a welcoming hotel with exceptionally helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely beautifully furnished hotel for three days over Christmas, and the service was excellent! We had been looking for a break last minute and the team were very accommodating as we required a booking a day earlier. They were welcoming of our little dog BiBi, and we felt right at home.

The Christmas package was full of luxury, mince pies and mulled wine on arrival, lovely food of a very high standard and plenty of it, cosy log fires in the drawing room. The Christmas eve gala dinner was beautifully delivered and of a wonderful quality, with a reception of champagne and canapes whilst carol singers serenaded . Christmas day lunch was very traditional but with options to of other tasty choices.

The hotel rooms are beautifully finished. We had double deluxe, towards the back of the hotel with easy access out the back exit for the garden fir BiBi. The bed was firm but comfortable and large. The bedding was luxurious and cosy. The bathroom was large with a tub bath and separate shower, beautifully finished. All the usual amenities were available (coffee, tea, biscuits, iron, and a decent ironing board!).

The staff were very friendly, welcoming and always willing to help. The manager came round and introduced herself to all guests in the hotel at the reception on Christmas eve, a lovely touch. Thank you for a lovely, relaxing festive break.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mbs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent two wonderful nights here with friends over New Year.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Our room, West Hatch was most comfortable with a large bathroom with roll top bath and huge shower, The towels were beautifully fluffy and were replaced whilst we were at dinner each evening! The bed was large and comfortable. Home made biscuits, bottled water,fresh fruit and cranberries were a nice touch in the room.
The lounge area in the hotel was large with comfortable setees and chairs. Cream scones welcomed us at teatime, followed early evening by a champagne reception with beautiful canapes before our amazing 7 course celebratory dinner . The staff in the restaurant were quietly attentive .We were advised before our meal that the chef would be serving the fillet of beef "medium" and asked if that suited us. We asked for it to be rare and we were not disappointed.Perfection! A live band gave us the opportunity to dance the night away and spectacular fireworks were the perfect way to welcome 2014. Breakfast the following morning started with Bucks Fizz. The menu was extensive- full English breakfast, smoked haddock, kippers, scrambled egg with smoked salmon to name just a few of the choices plus a large selection of cereals ,fruit,ham, cheese, croissants etc.
On New Years Day we attempted to visit Lyme Regis but sadly the weather was most inclement so venturing out far was difficult due to flooding. A quiet afternoon by a log fire in the lounge was the order of the day.
Dinner on our last evening was to the same exceptionally high standard. The scallops with pancetta, pineapple and toasted goats cheese was just delicious. The rack of lamb melted in the mouth and the hot blackberry souffle was divine. The chef is amazing !
We left feeling thoroughly pampered and would not hesitate to return here. The management and staff are to be congratulated

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I visited the Mount Spa with my daughter and daughter in law as a treat for us all. We were not disappointed. We all had a massage and also enjoyed the other facilities available such as the steam room, foot spas, spa bath and sauna.

After all these pleasures we enjoyed a delightful lunch to finish off our wonderful day of relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stine132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My son and daughter-in-law recently stayed at the Mount and from the minute they arrived to the minute they left, they had an amazing time. Their room was upgraded to a magnificent suite, the spa treatments were wonderful and the food, incredible. Moreover, the staff were attentive and welcoming and did everything possible to make their stay unforgettable. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Setting of hotel is wonderful, we went for lunch on New Years Day, sitting in the bar area in front of a roaring open fire was great while having pre lunch drinks. Staff were very good. We choose from the standard menu which was very good, but also have a set menu for £18 (2 courses) , £22 (3 courses) which looked very good value for money. The quality of the meal was excellent , I had Fish and Chips (approx £14) worth every penny, total cost for meal and drinks for 4 £80 very good value and around the same we would have paid in a local pub had any been open.
Will be visiting again, a very nice surprise find during the Christmas season and made our New Year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing