We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
exeter
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Went for lunch, £17.50 for 2 courses pp. We had starter and main. Below average food. Starters okay. Not enough bread with pate though.

The mains were awful. Truly awful. I had the shoulder of lamb. Nice idea. Over salted, undercooked veg and so, so dry. There was about a thimble or so of sauce for quite a lot of dry meat. There was a scattering of root veg. All of which were like eating apples. There's al dente but this was just laziness or ineptitude.

My partner had the mullet. Half a fillet. Overcooked and dry. Veg inedible. She said it was the worst fish dish she'd ever had.

Service and decor were excellent. It truly is a lovely building and the staff very friendly.

Given some attention to detail i think the food could be really good. Sadly, when we visited, it really was poor. This was on Valentine's Day too. Okay, a Monday lunchtime when head chef is off i could accept it but not on a potentially very busy day. We felt robbed and would never return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    189
    77
    49
    23
See reviews for
103
374
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went for afternoon tea have as a birthday treat from my daughter. Having never been to the Mount Somerset before I was was very impressed by the building and decoration,really stunning. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. Unfortunately the full afternoon tea was very disappointing. The first sign that things were not going to be quite as expected was when the cups and plates arrived, to say that you would expect to find this standard in a village hall is probably an understatement, surely Mount Somerset if you are serving a proper afternoon tea in such a beautiful setting you could use bone china cups and saucers! As for the tea itself it had a few good elements, the finger sandwiches were good as were the little macaroons, chocolate brownies and French patisserie. However the scones were over cooked and rock hard, the jam for the scones was bright red with no sign of any fruit in it, the lemon scones had a rubbery texture and were inedible, the meringues were very powdery and made us cough, as for the trifles I think they could quite happily be dispensed of altogether and perhaps the money spent on not producing these could be used to get some decent homemade jam. This had all the potential for being a lovely treat and changes to crockery and quality of products would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a deal with travel zoo for myself and my partner to include spa access, 30 min treatment (chose massage), cream tea and procecco.
On arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful and personally escorted us to the spa. The whole day was explained as well as all facilities. We started in the gym which was small but perfect for a full workout. The gym equipment was modern with touch screens for tv/radio. We then tried out the spa facilities which were clean and relaxing. There is a steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy pool (jacuzzi), experience shower with settings including tropical rain storm and separate foot spas. The relaxation room was small and could do with loungers as the chairs were not that comfy. The only thing that really lets the spa down is the lack of space. Meaning lockers were too small and no separate changing rooms. Only one toilet and shower so would've difficult if very busy. People may want a pool which they don't have.
We then went for our massage which was amazing!
After getting changed went for cream tea and procecco. I don't ever expect much as when you book deals, tend to get lower standards. But I was more than impressed with the huge home made scones, pot of tea each and nice tasting procecco.
Staff were so great and could not do enough. Very professional.
Overall I cannot rate this place enough, would just suggest extending to made the spa facilities more comfortable and spacious. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My sister, mum and I went to the spa this morning and loved it. Only £15 each for 4 hours, a total bargain! The spa is small but has everything you need to relax, it is clean, tidy and well organised. The staff we pleasant and showed us to the spa, we were the only people there for the first hour so it was very peaceful and we could come and go as we pleased without being pestered. I have been to a few other larger spas with more facilities but for the size and price this place is great, I would definitely recommend it and hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojothompson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My colleague and I stayed for 1 night on (3/2/14). From the second we walked in we were greated warmly and professionally. We were fortunate to both have deluxe rooms and they were lovely, spotless and classy.
The restaurant was equally nice and the staff were friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was lovely. We had the fish and chips and would definitely recommend them!!!
The logs fires in the bar/lounge finished off a lovely evening and I have told my husband our next weekend break will be at the Mount Somerset.
Well done to all at this fabulous hotel!!
Tracey & Kate from Warwickshire.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms with the role top bath and double shower cubicles were lovely. We also had rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful relaxing day at Mount Somerset. The facilities are on the small side, No swimming pool but instead a great hydrotherapy pool. We were on the travelzoo deal and it was great value for money. Very local to us but did not feel like it , very serene and nice grounds. WE had a massage and facial which was lovely. The afternoon cream tea was fantastic , warm scones and proper clotted cream.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My friend and I had a voucher each, bought from Travelzoo, which cost £29 each, and this included a 30 minute facial, there were other treatments to choose from, full use of the spa facilities, and a cream tea. It also included a glass of prosecco each but unfortunately we did not get this. We had the whole spa area to ourselves, being a Friday I guess most people were working, and our facials were fantastic. The spa itself is lovely..altho a bit on the small side, I certainly wouldn't want to be in there when it's busy!! A lovely hotel and very friendly staff and the home made scones at the end of a very relaxing day went down a treat! A bargain of a day for us!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
653 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
4.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
3.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing