We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ring of Bells

Ring of Bells
Ranked #18 of 256 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ring Of Bells is a Pub and Restaurant found on St James Street in Taunton.We offer a good choice of alcoholic beverages, great Real Ales and serve delicious, locally sourced meals at lunch and dinner.
Taunton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A quick bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite to eat this lunch time with my wife. Lovely food, a very pleasant environment and great service. Very reasonably priced food and wine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    82
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Top marks to the chef, have had lunch and an evening meal here and both were great. On my most recent visit I had the burger and it was delicious. Triple cooked chips homemade coleslaw and salad. The other people I dined with also enjoyed their meals.
Staff helpful and friendly. Nice atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

A group of us ate here, this is a small public house that is very clean and maintained. The menu is not extensive but there is a variety, I had fish pie which was lovely and full of flavour, the food was hot being served and reasonably priced. I did not have pudding but the ones I saw coming out of the kitchen looked very nice and a good size! The staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank blossom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had my birthday lunch with my wife, son and daughter in law. We had a lovely welcome, like we were locals. A good selection of beers were available as well as hot drinks. The lunch menu was not on the large side but a good selection and not complicated (see the web sites menu). The food was worth every penny and lots of it everything was eaten except for a couple of mouthfuls of my wife's as it was the quantity that beat her. I think this Pub is Taunton's little secret. Book to avoid disappointment. I will be going back and not just for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0b987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Above average pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Went in here for lunch with friends. We all had burgers, 1 chicken cajun burger and two beef with different cheeses, draught drinks from the bar. Thought it looked very popular when we walked in, felt like a nice place. Service was friendly and quick. The food was really good, well-presented and very tasty, seemed freshly cooked and good ingredients. Burgers were accompanied by gourmet chips and coleslaw, tasted luxurious! Would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhiannanM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ring of Bells also viewed

Taunton, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Ring of Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing