We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese food and excellent service!”

Sumo Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #15 of 262 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The name "SUMO" signifies the authenticity and the tradition of real authentic food of Japan. As the Japanese respect their traditional sport Sumo, we respect the demand of authentic Japanese food. Sumo Japanese Cuisine in Taunton, in the heart of Somerset offering the modern authentic Japanese dining. Our Chef, 12 years of experienced in Roppongi, the heart of the world famous city Tokyo has the skill and knowledge originated from Japan where our entire recipe belongs. He has been the executive chef in Mitsukoshi, Piccadilly Circus London for last 3 years. Now he has come to conquer South West of England with his mouth watering innovative Japanese recipes. Our executive chef prepares the menu combines with variety of traditional and modern Sushi, Sashimi are freshly prepared in our luxury Sushi bar. Our special grill chef offers you the freshly charcoal grilled yakitori with Beef, Chicken, Fish fillet or whole Fish while drinking a glass of wine or traditional Japanese sake. Carefully selected sake served warm and cold, selected fine wines, other liqueur and Japanese traditional beer will complement the great dishes served in the restaurant. Sumo Japanese cuisine designed with extravagance and unique interior, combined with modern and traditional Japanese touch. The traditional style of seating area offers a VIP service to make you feel and enjoy a distinctive Japanese style of dining. There is an ample public car park rear of the restaurant. Japanese food comprises a proper balanced diet. So, come and dine with us, as we believe "Eat Healthy and Live Healthy".
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food and excellent service!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went to Sumo for the first time and we were very impress with the food.

There are a good selection of food choices on the menu. They even serve octopus balls and they taste really good!

We shared a few starters, sushi and tempura. They are all very good, the quality of food is excellent, and the portion size is also very good. Good value for money in Sumo!

The service is also very good, staff are very attentive, we had a great night. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    65
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced and well below expectations”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We will never go back to this restaurant. The decor is old fashioned and really cheap looking; which is more than can be said for the price of the food. We ordered tempura which had thick batter on the small prawns. It was dry and really needed some chilli, ginger type dip to give it some taste but there was nothing. We also had ramen noodles which was completely uninspiring with three sad dumplings and virtually nothing else in the bowl and a tofu salad which again looked horrid 4 slabs of tofu on some shredded coleslaw. The wine selection is poor. We ordered the cheapest bottle of white wine because it was all so expensive (which was still £20) and it was dire. We would have been better off going to Mint & Mustard with awesome food and great wines at the same price. Big mistake and £80 not well spent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JojoAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoJapanese, Manager at Sumo Japanese Cuisine, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for dining with us.We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy it as much as you expected. But we appreciate your constructive criticism. However, our decor is completely represents very authentic Japanese tradition to let the people have feel of Japanese Cuisine unlike Other Japanese fast food shop. Really sorry about the tempura, but they are very light battered. However, you might would have liked something else on the menu, as we do have variety of other popular Japanese dishes on the menu, such as Teriyaki, Yakitori etc. Apologies again that you did not like the noodles, but soup noodles are mainly based on soup and noodles which is healthy and large portion to fill you up. Our cheapest bottle of wine starts from £16.50. However, we are looking to change and improve our wine collections with more variety. We do feel extremely sorry for your bad experience but we can suggest other things on the menu which we can guarantee that you will definitely enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exciting experience”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Went with grandparents and children, all had Bento boxes, really liked all the different things to choose from, generous portion and really enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“London Quality”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The food is superb, service is great. Recommend VIP table, cross legged Japanese-style and hot sake. London quality, good value. And the food is great quality.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iduna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Japanese, great food, music and ambience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We visited Sumo on a Tuesday evening. We sat on cushions on the carpet by the low tables, which has an excellent ambience and special chopsticks and decor to make it feel quite special. One of us had the Jasmine Flower Tea, which was quite a novelty to see the dried Jasmine open in the glass. Overall the food was good, the Nigiri especially so, the Tempura vegetables less exciting. The green team ice cream with dough balls was an interesting novelty, perfectly accompanied by warm Saki. The service was attentive - we will definitely go back and try more of the menu. £70 for two with plenty of food and drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Sumo Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing