We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shepherds Rest - Galmington- Taunton - Somerset
Ranked #49 of 257 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rob Connah”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This is the best pub around in taunton for food and generally everything you would want for in a great British public house. 5 star every time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Staff.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have eaten at the Shepherds Rest several times. The food is excellent. The themed nights are great value for money.
The Staff are friendly and always happy. Nothing is too much trouble which is why we return time after time.
Keep up the good work and the high standards of food we have come to expect and we will continue to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leebods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely best place.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

John and mya well done.
You run an amazingly delicious food menu.always top quality.your pub is so amazing we've proudly called our puppy after it.it is always a real pleasure to visit and highly recommendedll is

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellen225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great local for our community - well worth supporting!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This isn't a fancy bistro pub or restaurant with a la carte menu, it's a wonderful friendly local with a good and reasonably priced menu, cosy bar and relaxed dining area. Great with friends or family (including young children). The interior could probably do with a bit of a spruce up if I'm really trying to pick fault. What really matters is the friendly, helpful staff and great atmosphere. This pub has many regular customers and I hope this will be enough to keep it alive for many years to come. Please remember to SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL. Try this pub and you'll have a lovely surprise!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic buffet for family events”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just wanted to say thanks to John, Mike and all staff at Shepherds rest, we had a family event, so booked skittle alley/darts rooms, and buffet, staff could not have done more to make this run smoothly, even put up our banners before we arrived, buffet was really nice and plenty of food and plates, and had a really lovely day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shepherds Rest - Galmington- Taunton - Somerset also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 
Hatch Beauchamp, Somerset
 

Been to Shepherds Rest - Galmington- Taunton - Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing