We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closer to the Edge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Closer to the Edge

Closer to the Edge
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Closer to the Edge!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from a visit to Closer to the Edge, Vivary Park Taunton. Took our eight year old grand daughters and had a great time. One rated the experience as 100 out of 10. Very well organised, lovely, patient staff. What a find - lived in Somerset over 30 years and didn't know it was there!
Cost £12 each for the girls to have a go on the low ropes, high ropes and climbing wall, other options were available if wanted. They were not rushed at all and staff were on hand to help/encourage when needed. Plenty of places for a picnic and coffee, snacks etc. available on site. Also a lovely play park for children in the park so plenty to do. Brilliant time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved by the Scouts!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We took our Group of 20 scouts and 34 Beavers to the Climbing wall in Vivary Park, they LOVED it. The setting was beautiful and easy to find, clearly marked from both entrances.
The instructors were friendly and helpful and had a real way with the kids. The reassurance given to the hesitant climbers. by the instructors made our jobs as Leaders easier. There was lots for the groups to do and plenty of time to do it. A climbing wall, various obstacles, a zip wire, Jacobs Ladder and others I cant remember. We even had time for a little Mini Golf. Would defiantly go again!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Han23jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic - suitable for ages 5+ (if they're brave enough!)”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went as a family (ages 5 - 41yrs) to do the high ropes and the slightly lower low ropes course. Once I had recovered from the shock that low ropes are actually as high as a house(!), we all had a go. My youngest son who is 5 was loving the fact that he was braver than me! It was fantastic value at about £12 per person for the low ropes (Junior Edge) or £15 for high ropes (extreme). The price also includes a fan descender (simulated parachute jump from 10m) and a climbing wall. We were there for about 2 hours.
The staff were friendly and reassuring and totally understood when I wimped out of one activity! They made time everyone making sure that it wasn't just some of the 'over enthusiastic' children and teenagers who had all the goes. I think you can pay a bit more and have a go at other challenges. It's well worth the money for an exciting and thrilling afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harminfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westonzoyland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked my son and his friends on the 'Junior Edge' package for his 11th birthday, and they all had an 'epic' time. The instructor was brilliant with them, even the nervous children had a go at everything and enjoyed themselves. They had over an hour on the course and was excellent value for money. They all decided it was the best thing they've ever done!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leggy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Closer to the Edge also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Closer to the Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing