We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ever so helpful- great location good facilities and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Ever so helpful- great location good facilities and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for three nights in September- both hosts very friendly, helpful and obliging; breakfast great, facilities and room very good.

I take issue with other commentators about noise- I did not experience this at all- and good curtains are there to filter out street lighting...

This was a home away from home- indeed, even cleaner and more centrally located than my own home!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    66
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
136
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This welcoming B&B is absolutely spotless and very well presented. The facilities are good, the room was comfortable and breakfast excellent. Easily reached from the M5 and close to the town centre, its main road location didn't detract and didn't disturb a peaceful and comfortable night.
on an ovdrnight business trip, I only stayed one night and didn't arrive in time to sample the evening meals on offer, but would have happily stayed longer given the chance. All in all a very, very good B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed for one night and all was perfect. I was attending a business meeting and conference at the Holiday Inn and decided to take a gamble of looking at places to stay a couple of miles away. This was spot on and 40% cheaper. Very welcoming. Very quiet. Warm. Extremely clean. Good English breakfast. I'll be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

A lovely traditional B&B. Excellent service, absolutely spotless room, very friendly and helpful owners. Near to town centre, supermarket and local attractions.We stayed in the family room with a double and single bed and it was very pleasant. Even though it is on a main road, we were not disturbed. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rooftile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

A very nice single room with new facilties , all very clean and comfy bed. The shepherds pie for dinner could have done with more "shepherd" vegetables nicely presented and hot .Lovely english breakfast ,so well presented on the plate seemed a shame to eat it ,I overcame those thoughts and it was delicious . £1 for a can of diet coke a bit heavy ,business is business !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I agree with vic s. It was the cleanest place we have ever stayed in while in England. And the breakfast was very good. Service impeccable. Parking facilities. Very near to the centre. A bit expensive, but worth while.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Super friendly owners. Comfy bed, Rooms spotless and superb ensiute good breakfast and walking distance to the town. Very good enjoyable stay we had here. As it was in very good location to go anywhere in Taunton . some very good resturants in the area

Room Tip: We were in room at the front of the Hotel which face on to the main road . but we did not have any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redthecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing