We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent excellent”
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Brookfield House last weekend for one night. Our friend found the B&B and booked it. The B&B was very clean, new facilities and very nice host.The room was very good size with ensuit bath room. You can tell the own looks after the B&B. It spotless from outside to inside. Even the plants don't have dust. We really enjoyed our stay. Loved the breakfast too. Excellent location to walk to town. We willl defnitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XiaojuanYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Brookfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

A friendly welcome greeted myself and 2 friends to this, on first impressions, old fashioned, but soo immaculately decorated and clean B&B. We had a family room with double bed and single, which was very comfortable. The room was not large but perfectly adequate. The spotless ensuite bathroom was perfect. For me the only downside was the main road. I am not used to traffic noise and a very light sleeper so early traffic did disturb me a bit. The cooked breakfast was fantastic. Would definately stay again if in Taunton.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper maybe ask for room off the main road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for three nights in September- both hosts very friendly, helpful and obliging; breakfast great, facilities and room very good.

I take issue with other commentators about noise- I did not experience this at all- and good curtains are there to filter out street lighting...

This was a home away from home- indeed, even cleaner and more centrally located than my own home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This welcoming B&B is absolutely spotless and very well presented. The facilities are good, the room was comfortable and breakfast excellent. Easily reached from the M5 and close to the town centre, its main road location didn't detract and didn't disturb a peaceful and comfortable night.
on an ovdrnight business trip, I only stayed one night and didn't arrive in time to sample the evening meals on offer, but would have happily stayed longer given the chance. All in all a very, very good B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed for one night and all was perfect. I was attending a business meeting and conference at the Holiday Inn and decided to take a gamble of looking at places to stay a couple of miles away. This was spot on and 40% cheaper. Very welcoming. Very quiet. Warm. Extremely clean. Good English breakfast. I'll be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A lovely traditional B&B. Excellent service, absolutely spotless room, very friendly and helpful owners. Near to town centre, supermarket and local attractions.We stayed in the family room with a double and single bed and it was very pleasant. Even though it is on a main road, we were not disturbed. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rooftile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A very nice single room with new facilties , all very clean and comfy bed. The shepherds pie for dinner could have done with more "shepherd" vegetables nicely presented and hot .Lovely english breakfast ,so well presented on the plate seemed a shame to eat it ,I overcame those thoughts and it was delicious . £1 for a can of diet coke a bit heavy ,business is business !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
660 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £86 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing