We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I chose this B&B for its close proximity to the town centre and the ability to walk to the various restaurants that I wanted to visit. About a six minute walk to the town centre. Very clean room with a comfortable bed and en suite shower. Pleasant, helpful hosts and a good breakfast. The only reason for not giving it an excellent was that I found the traffic rather noisy in a front bedroom which was the only one available at the time of booking. However certainly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsqueaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    66
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
136
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed one night at Brookfield House which which we found very comfortable and
wonderfully clean (it seemed to sparkle).

We arrived early evening, in the rain, after a long drive, to a very warm welcome, and thoughtfulness and flexibility re our room choice - we had heavy bags, so they changed us
to a downstairs room.
Also, because we were weary, it was so nice to have the option of having a
meal in-house.

It is a 6 - 8 minute walk into town centre, plus many places of interest nearby.

So thank you Reids, we would highly recommend your guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Brookfield House last weekend for one night. Our friend found the B&B and booked it. The B&B was very clean, new facilities and very nice host.The room was very good size with ensuit bath room. You can tell the own looks after the B&B. It spotless from outside to inside. Even the plants don't have dust. We really enjoyed our stay. Loved the breakfast too. Excellent location to walk to town. We willl defnitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XiaojuanYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

A friendly welcome greeted myself and 2 friends to this, on first impressions, old fashioned, but soo immaculately decorated and clean B&B. We had a family room with double bed and single, which was very comfortable. The room was not large but perfectly adequate. The spotless ensuite bathroom was perfect. For me the only downside was the main road. I am not used to traffic noise and a very light sleeper so early traffic did disturb me a bit. The cooked breakfast was fantastic. Would definately stay again if in Taunton.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper maybe ask for room off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for three nights in September- both hosts very friendly, helpful and obliging; breakfast great, facilities and room very good.

I take issue with other commentators about noise- I did not experience this at all- and good curtains are there to filter out street lighting...

This was a home away from home- indeed, even cleaner and more centrally located than my own home!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This welcoming B&B is absolutely spotless and very well presented. The facilities are good, the room was comfortable and breakfast excellent. Easily reached from the M5 and close to the town centre, its main road location didn't detract and didn't disturb a peaceful and comfortable night.
on an ovdrnight business trip, I only stayed one night and didn't arrive in time to sample the evening meals on offer, but would have happily stayed longer given the chance. All in all a very, very good B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed for one night and all was perfect. I was attending a business meeting and conference at the Holiday Inn and decided to take a gamble of looking at places to stay a couple of miles away. This was spot on and 40% cheaper. Very welcoming. Very quiet. Warm. Extremely clean. Good English breakfast. I'll be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing