We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I was recommended this guest house by a local company who I was working with my stay was for two weeks and while I was there the owners could not do enough for me. The breakfasts are good and the bedroom was kept clean to a very high standard, the en suite shower was of good quality .Wifi was in each room and worked well during my stay the only slight problem was the traffic noise as I had a front room but it was not too much of a problem. Location is great as you can walk into the town in five minutes where there are some good pubs and restaurants I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SROB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    65
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
135
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We recently stayed here for a week while we were having some work done on our flat, we couldn't have asked for more, the owners where more than happy to help with anything we needed after giving us a warm welcome. The rooms are very clean and ours was spacious too, it had everything we needed with the tea and coffee and towels replaced daily. The breakfast was 5 star, there was no problem if you wanted to go off menu, they offer evening meals too and snacks if you require , all of witch sounded lovely. Great location too just a short 5 min walk from the town centre and although it is on a road, we couldnt believe how quiet it was! We would recommend to anyone! And will defiantly be directing any family that come to stay, there!

Room Tip: Room 1 was great and a little more out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

My family and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for 1 night only. The accommodation is very clean but old fashioned for my taste. It is on a main road but this did not prove to be a problem. The bathroom is incredibly small as is the room, if you were staying for more than 1 night this may be a problem. The room had a very small tv and a tea tray. Overall it was fine for one night but I think we payed £80 per room which I thought was way overpriced for this type of accomodation. I would happily of paid this for a boutique type B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbr009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I chose this B&B for its close proximity to the town centre and the ability to walk to the various restaurants that I wanted to visit. About a six minute walk to the town centre. Very clean room with a comfortable bed and en suite shower. Pleasant, helpful hosts and a good breakfast. The only reason for not giving it an excellent was that I found the traffic rather noisy in a front bedroom which was the only one available at the time of booking. However certainly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsqueaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed one night at Brookfield House which which we found very comfortable and
wonderfully clean (it seemed to sparkle).

We arrived early evening, in the rain, after a long drive, to a very warm welcome, and thoughtfulness and flexibility re our room choice - we had heavy bags, so they changed us
to a downstairs room.
Also, because we were weary, it was so nice to have the option of having a
meal in-house.

It is a 6 - 8 minute walk into town centre, plus many places of interest nearby.

So thank you Reids, we would highly recommend your guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Brookfield House last weekend for one night. Our friend found the B&B and booked it. The B&B was very clean, new facilities and very nice host.The room was very good size with ensuit bath room. You can tell the own looks after the B&B. It spotless from outside to inside. Even the plants don't have dust. We really enjoyed our stay. Loved the breakfast too. Excellent location to walk to town. We willl defnitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XiaojuanYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

A friendly welcome greeted myself and 2 friends to this, on first impressions, old fashioned, but soo immaculately decorated and clean B&B. We had a family room with double bed and single, which was very comfortable. The room was not large but perfectly adequate. The spotless ensuite bathroom was perfect. For me the only downside was the main road. I am not used to traffic noise and a very light sleeper so early traffic did disturb me a bit. The cooked breakfast was fantastic. Would definately stay again if in Taunton.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper maybe ask for room off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing