We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous bed and breakfast at Brookfield House”
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bed and breakfast at Brookfield House”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find such a wonderful bed and breakfast. On holiday from Sydney Australia my husband an I were travelling with our daughter and by chance booked a night here for three people. We were greeted by our charming host Ian Our room was spacious, immaculate and great attention to detail executed a gorgeous comfortable room. The bathroom was spotless and contained lovely thick fluffy white towels. The double and single beds were very comfortable with lovely linen and very comfortable pillows. Tea making facilities were provided. Breakfast in the morning was very enjoyable with a great selection of hot and cold dishes. We were sad we were only there for one night as our time was limited. Lastly parking was available just in front of Brookfield House off the road. Congratulations on a well run business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    66
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
140
51
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here on business-Hotel ideally situated just off Taunton Town Center. This is very clean, comfortable and well run Hotel, it has the bonus of a small free car park at the front which the owner makes sure accommodates everyone.The rooms are comfortable with all facilities and its good value for money. Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice and it is cooked fresh. The owner is very friendly and you cant really go wrong here its ideal for Taunton and well recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamcsMr-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Cornwall. An extremely clean and efficient b&b, good breakfast too. The owner nice, friendly and helpful. B&b close to town centre, pubs, restaurants etc. Would recommend Brookfield House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

First time visit to Taunton a largish fairly nondescript town with a mish mash of styles from medieval to brutal 60,s architecture whose centre still seems to be dominated by whizzing traffic!
Anyway,after that disappointment onto Brookfield House which proved to be a quiet haven close to the action! We were welcomed by friendly chap at reception and given a key to let us come and go as we pleased and then shown to our very nice spacious room on the first floor which overlooked the pleasant rear garden area. Everything was as it should be ie spotlessly clean,comfortable bed, ensuite with all the fluffy towels etc. We did not have dinner at Brookfield House-more on that in another review! but we did have breakfast and this is where in my opinion they lose the otherwise fully justified 5 star rating. I found the "full English" to be slightly fomulaic. It,s hard to be specific about this but although perfectly edible it had the look of something that was about to photographed and stuck behind the counter at a fast food restaurant!

Room Tip: room at back peaceful but front of hotel is just off very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanne6865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, nce fluffy towels and quality bedding. Comfortable bed and good breakfast, what more do you want for B&B?
Only stayed one night for a friends wedding but well pleased.

Room Tip: Maybe one at the back away from road if you want to be picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights in total whilst on business. This was recommended to me by colleagues, on arrival it was apparent a great deal of care had been taken in the preparation of the guest house. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the service very good. It is a short walk to the High Street so not a bad location.
I did not eat in the evening here but the breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared. The bathrooms are a little small but very clean and functional.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

If you want lovely décor & spotlessly clean accommodation then you will not beat this. The attention to detail is excellent. We didn't get the room we had specifically booked on the phone as they had let it to someone else which was annoying but the room we had was very nice. We personally did not enjoy the food. We both love full English but cooked traditionally. Both days I asked for crispy bacon & got just about cooked, eggs also not cooked on the top, mushrooms were terrible as if boiled & fried bread not fresh, so hard & crispy nearly lost it across the room when trying to cut it. We also had the evening meal the first night as we were late arriving. The home-made pie was really nice but let down by frozen vegetables & roast potatoes. For the price we expected at least fresh & properly roasted. Dessert, however, was lovely. Overall thought it overpriced, mainly due to the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
815 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing