We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mike R” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mike R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Rooms and property are immaculate. The bedrooms were very cosy with lovely beds and just like being at home. The breakfast was piping hot and plenty of it. For anyone who wants to stay convenient to town and have first class accommodation this cant be beaten

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review which we greatly appreciate. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House and will look very much forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Taunton.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    65
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
135
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Friendly and promptly dealt with my booking. Warm welcome. The lovely cosy room was well decorated and spotlessly clean. Good to have a hair drier in the room. Had a very comfortable stay. The vegetarian cooked breakfast arrived piping-hot and was delicious.... Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Rosemary,
Thank you very much for kindly taking the time to give us such a positive review which is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Brookfield House again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed for five nights and I was very comfortable. Room was very clean. Jill & Ian were very good hosts. Great breakfasts. One evening I stayed in and had dinner which was very good. All food that was served was hot. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear David,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back to Brookfield House again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Clean comfortable welcoming cosy and good food I loved staying here. I stay in a lot of hotels but loved my night here. Not sure I should be sharing this in case it's booked up the next time I want to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disco106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review which we greatly appreciate. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was the third time I have stayed with Jill & Ian in this delightful friendly B&B. My room was beautiful, clean & comfy. My welcome warm as usual. Food excellent and nothing too much trouble. When I needed to find new accommodation in Plymouth due to last minute change of plans, Jill had booked me a room before I had even packed my car, what more could you ask for. Highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliePhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Julie,
Thank you so much for your kind review which we very much appreciate. We were so pleased you have enjoyed your visits to Brookfield House and it was a pleasure to be of help. We will always welcome you back should you need to visit Taunton in the future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely friendly welcome. Excellent accommodation with very good facilities including TV and radio, tea and coffee plus free wifi.. Modern well appointed en suite shower room and very comfortable bed. Excellent well cooked hot breakfast. Friendly service without being intrusive. Overall I would give it five stars, definitely recommend and I would stay there again. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Back rooms had a lovely view of the garden. Front room also excellent but faced the main road althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review which is very much appreciated. We were so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House and we will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Over lunch on Thursday 24th October I phoned this B and B in Taunton and made a reservation. I’d seen the reviews on TripAdvisor. Ian was very polite and friendly on the phone.

We arrived around 4pm, and were met at the door by Ian. He showed us upstairs to our room, number 6 on the 1st floor.

At first glance I was a bit put out, as it seemed very small. However, once I’d calmed down a bit I realised that although the room was indeed small, it was very nice and although the bathroom was built (literally) into a cupboard, it was very new and clean, and had great toiletries.

And at £90 including breakfast it’s less expensive than other places we’ve stayed at on this trip.

We had a very good night’s sleep, the bed was very comfortable. Nice linen and pillows.

Breakfast was served in the dining room, with cereals on the buffet and a hot breakfast cooked to order. Very nice it was too.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing