We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite in Taunton”
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A lovely guest house, I keep coming back whenever I am in Taunton. Very clean and tidy, excellent breakfasts. The hoste are very friendly and helpful. Good situation, within walking distanse of the town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Anne,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review regarding your stay with us once again at Brookfield House. It is always such a pleasure to be able to accommodate both you and Sissel each year and we will look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

My stay was comfortable and I was made most welcome. Standards are superb. It was spotlessly clean and everything in amazing condition. Breakfast was first class as was the service. I cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Fiona,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us such a lovely and positive review which we greatly appreciate. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House and will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This B and B is exceptionally clean and well decorated. The owners were welcoming and looked after us well. Breakfast was always piping hot and very tasty. The shops and restaurants of Taunton are in easy walking distance. This is a lovely place to chill out in after a busy day.

Room Tip: Ask the owner for advice about room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveJM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Eve,
Thank you so very much for your kind words and for taking the time to give us such a positive review which we greatly appreciate. We were pleased to hear you found us close to where you needed to be and also that your stay with us was a comfortable one. We shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future should you need to visit Taunton again.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A really great little guest house. Jill and Ian, the hosts, made me feel very welcome on my arrival. They then showed me to a comfortable room with one of the softest beds I have ever slept in. Together with a really nice bathroon (where you had plenty of room to move about unlike some places I've stayed in) and an excellent breakfast the whole experience was superb. I would recommend anyone staying inTaunton to go and take a look.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Ian,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review which we greatly appreciate. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House and will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for one night (Saturday) and found the accommodation to be perfect. Great service very friendly. Very convenient location for both the station (short taxi) and the centre of town (short walk). The place was very very clean with very good services. We also had breakfast on the SUnday morning which was excellent - great food and great portion!

Would highly recommend Brookfield House and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Kenneth,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review which we greatly appreciate. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Brookfield House should you need to visit Taunton again in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for one night at this great B&B. Room was very clean and comfortable. Great to stay somewhere with a shower that's as hot and powerful as the one we have at home. Great location, walking distance into Taunton town centre. Breakfast was very good, piping hot and plenty of it as it filled up my other half until tea time! Would recommend this Great B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Samantha,
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to say how you enjoyed your stay at Brookfield House. We were especially pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The room was good (clean, good size). The host friendly. The location was good and within a 10 to 15 minute walk from the town centre. I would have liked to pay a tiny bit less. However I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbiej4syth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us such a positive review which we greatly appreciate. We note you stayed with us back in July however, are unsure how you reserved your accommodation with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Brookfield House once again should you need to visit Taunton in the future and please feel free to book via our own website where you will find prices slightly more competitive.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £84 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing