We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were impressed with the front view of the house. Very elegant and tidy. A warm and efficient welcome. Straight up to a very comfortable room overlooking the lovely walled garden. The whole house is beautifully decorated and maintained. We had pre booked dinner which was well presented and of a very good standard. You need to provide your own alcohol if you wish to drink. Breakfast provided and again cooked to order and of a good standard. We will definitely be returning to this beautiful 'boutique hotel'. I hesitate to simply call it a hotel as it is very small and intimate with very high standards, a warm and friendly atmosphere, well positioned for visiting in and outside Taunton. A very successful stop over on our way home from Devon.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pretty walled garden so we had no noise. It did not have a bath, just a shower bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anjela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Anjela,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a positive and lovely review which we greatly appreciate. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we will look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Taunton.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    66
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
136
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The convenient location and welcome at Brookfield House is excellent with a wonderful breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts and there is even car parking on site. A great centre from which to tour the Somerset region.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Simon,
Thank you so much for you kind comments which we very much appreciate. As always, it is such a pleasure to welcome you all back on your return visits. We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is great value for money and a most welcoming place to stay. The rooms are very clean, quite and well furnished. Breakfast was very well cooked and I had so much lunch was not needed! You are made to feel so welcome it is a home away from home and I highly recommend the experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark_J_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review which we greatly appreciate. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and found your accommodation comfortable. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Brookfield House again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Close to the city centre, very clean, looks like its just been refurbished, lots of room for off road parking, very friendly, we said we could be late back as it was a 70th birthday party we were going to....no problem your room key has a front door key to get back in....superb.One of the best full English breakfasts I have had for a long time, as my wife said it makes a change to stop somewhere, and the chef knows how to cook an egg properly.
So, yes we would recommend Brookfield House, This was April 2014, and road works are going on in Taunton for the next 16 weeks, which makes getting around a bit of a bind, with lots of roads closed, but if we are down in Taunton again, would certainly stop there again.
Room for two + full breakfasts £95 (Saturday Night)

Room Tip: We had the most expensive, which was fine, so not aware of what the other room were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Jacki,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive and generous review which we greatly appreciate. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and also your visit to Taunton. It will be a pleasure to welcome you both back again should you need to visit the area in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have been staying at Brookfield for a number of years and agree with many of the comments about the warm welcome, cleanliness and freshly cooked breakfasts. It is well placed for a walk in to town, but also handy for the main routes away.

Room Tip: We have used most of the rooms and all are of the same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Janet & Michael,
It is always such a pleasure to have you both stay with us at Brookfield House and we thank you for your kind comments which we really appreciate. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Taunton.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Perfectly clean and comfortable room. Lavish breakfast, including accurately scrambled eggs. Easy to walk to town centre and bus station (eg to visit West Somerset Railway). Taunton itself is well worth a visit just for Brendon Books, in the delightful Bath Place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Nicholas,
Thank you very much for kindly taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also your visit to Taunton. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Brookfield House in the near future should you need to visit Taunton once again.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Lovely welcome, very comfortable room well thought out and great attention to detail. Best nights sleep for a long time (as a regular road warrior!). Bathroom was excellent. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank light_traveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at Brookfield House recently. We were so pleased to hear you found your room comfortable and that you also had a good night's sleep. We will look very much forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing