We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate !”
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Immaculate !”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Extremely clean and tidy rooms ! Fantastic breakfast ! Good hosts ! Secure parking! Access to nearby restaurants and supermarket !would recommend it to everyone who are keen on living close to the town centre!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niksrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for kindly taking the time to write us such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. We are so pleased to hear you were happy with your accommodation and will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    66
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
136
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Ian and Gill are the perfect hosts. Having stayed here before the room once again gave you the feeling no-one had ever stayed in there before you. Always absolutely spotless. Excellent furnishings and in room facilities and comfortable bed. The breakfast is just wonderful, plenty of variety and always piping hot and presented so well. We really cannot praise enough the overall experience

Room Tip: There is no lift to the upper floor so the ground floor room would be required if climbing stairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Irene,
Thank you so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House which we so appreciate. It is always a pleasure to welcome you both back and we will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I am a student who has just completed a three month placement at the local hospital, whilst staying at the Brookfield House for the entire duration. My overall experience was excellent. The rooms I stayed in were modern with fantastic ensuites. Both Gill and Ian could not do enough, accommodating for my meal times whilst being very welcoming from the start. Also the off road parking is very useful meaning quick and easy access to the town. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I would highly recommend the Brookfield House to anyone looking to stay in and around the Taunton area.
J Medlicott

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Joe,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review and for your kind words which we very much appreciate. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Brookfield House and for us be able to accommodate you during your placement in Taunton. We wish you all the best for the future and should you need to return again we would of course welcome you back.
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Have just stayed for two nights, had the family room at the front, room was lovely, spotless and great attention to detail, warm welcome from the hosts.
Having visited Taunton quite regularly to visit our son over the last few years, we have stayed in the premier inn type hotels, but in future now our first choice will be the Brookfield, lovely place and the breakfast is fantastic Thank you for a lovely stay, wish we had discovered the Brookfield earlier.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Cooke Family,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you all just recently and be able to accommodate you here at Brookfield House. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation comfortable. We will look forward to welcoming you all back again soon on your next visit to Taunton.
Best wishes to you all
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A great B&B in the centre of Taunton - very handy for the shops and Kings College where we were visiting. Good size room and bathroom with good in room faciltities. Very pleasant and hospitable hosts and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ClaireS3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for kindly taking the time to give us such a lovely review which we very much appreciate. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House. We will look forward to welcoming you back again for the cricket season hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for two nights whilst visiting family. This was by far the best B&B I have stayed in. It was incredibly clean and the breakfast was fantastic! It was very welcoming and had a lovely peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words and also for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House and will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near future.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My friend and I spent 3 delightful nights there recently. Lovely warm welcome from the hosts. Personal service. Attention to detail. Fantastic breakfast all professionally served. We loved everything about Brookfield House and would love to stay again when visiting my family in nearby area.

Room Tip: Lovely family room at the front of the property. Have to admit traffic quite heavy in Wellington Roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Julie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate both you and your friend and we will look forward to welcoming you back again on your next return to Taunton.
Best wishes
Jill & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing