We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Won’t be Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yallands Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yallands Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You Won’t be Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Yallands is a lovely 16c farmhouse with character. This combined with the homemade cooking and friendly atmosphere from the owners, Chris and Karen, made it a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
63
26
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I only stayed for one night,but was made so welcome that i felt like part of Chris & Karens family.
Room was spotless & bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was great & the evening meal,karen is an excellent cook.I was sorry to leave.
Would defininetly return
Bob P

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed at Yallands Farmhouse for just one night, but left feeling like a member of the family. Karen and Chris are fantastic hosts, and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. I had made no plans for dinner, but Karen obligingly included me in her dinner plans. It was a lovely evening! The breakfast the next morning was delicious. It was also no bother to leave my bags behind for when I departed later that day.

The location is slightly odd - such a shame that a whole housing estate has been built round the old farmhouse! That said, it was perfectly peaceful, and I had a great night's sleep. Also, it is perfect if you are planning a visit to the Somerset Heritage Centre (just 10 minutes walk away).

My only criticism is that the bathroom could be modernised a little - or at the least a shower curtain put in place - but this is a very minor point in an otherwise perfect stay!

Thank-you!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Karen and Chris are great hosts, giving one a genuine welcome into their lovely old house. It may be situated in a slightly incongruous location but this does not give rise to any noise problems. My room was certainly very comfortable, with all the facilities one would need, and the standard of housekeeping is top notch. Karen is an excellent cook who, in addition to a very good breakfast , offers tasty evening meals by prior arrangement.

When you have a B&B as good as this I can't think why anyone would want to pay more money to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Only stayed one night - wish it could have been more. Lovely room with all the facilities you need, and an excellent breakfast! Chris and Karen made us feel very welcome - we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotspur63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at Yallands whilst my Mum had an operation at the nearby Nuffield Taunton hospital (which is within walking distance). As she has mobility problems, the downstairs "Courtyard" room was convenient and accessible, with a disabled parking space just outside the side door.
We stayed 10 days in total, occupying two rooms. At all times Chris and Karen were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.
They're now doing evening meals as well - booking essential. Can thoroughly recommend the "Yallands chicken". Breakfasts are comprehensive and cooked to order, plus cereals, fruit, juices etc.
The rooms are clean and tidy, with LCD TV, tea and coffee etc and have free wi-fi access.
We hope we never have to go back to the Hospital, but if we do, then Yallands will be the place we choose for the stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JsyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our family with two kids aged 7 and 9 stayed here for 6 nights and just did not want to leave! We were all in one room but there was still plenty of space for our bags and to move around. Chris and Karen were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was fabulous. There is plenty of parking, a lovely communal lounge and a nice garden to relax in. Our daughter enjoyed playing with Pepper the dog every morning.
Yallands was a great base from which we did day trips to Stonehenge, Bath and The Air Arm Museum.
I would highly recommend staying here, a home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acope723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
374 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
7.8 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yallands Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallands Farmhouse

Property: Yallands Farmhouse
Address: Yallands Farmhouse Speke Close | Staplegrove, Taunton TA2 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yallands Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owners Chris & Karen Ward look forward to welcoming you to Yallands Farmhouse - our delightful Grade II Listed building dating back over 400 years, which sat amidst acres of green fields for several centuries. The expansion of Taunton during the 1970's led to new housing being built on the former farmland. The farmhouse, with its secluded garden, small orchard, and stone barn was left intact. As a result, Yallands has become an unexpected 'oasis' of peace and tranquility within a modern corner of Somerset's county town. Yallands offers self-assessed 4 star accommodation in Taunton, Somerset. The house is situated 1 1/2 miles from Taunton town centre, on the north-western edge of the town, and is easily reached from the M5 motorway - junction 25 (4 miles), and junction 26 (6 miles). For those who are reliant on public transport a local bus, with a stop at the foot of the garden, provides a frequent daytime service to and from the town centre. The lovely town centre provides excellent shopping and county cricket, horse racing, golf, theatre and other leisure facilities are all available nearby. Taunton has a good selection of restaurants and wine bars to suit most tastes and the surrounding countryside offers many delightful pubs which serve excellent food. There is ample car parking space in the private grounds together with lockable cycle storage in the stables. Why not enjoy relaxing in our gardens in the summer or sitting in front of our open fire in those cold winter months? Yallands is open all year round and - whether you are a tourist or a business visitor - you can be assured of a warm welcome and our individual attention.Yallands is particularly convenient for Taunton School, The Somerset Heritage Centre & Nuffield Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yallands Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yallands Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing