We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming owners, perfect room, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yallands Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yallands Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 56 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Welcoming owners, perfect room, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at Yallands Farmhouse B&B while in Staplegrove, outside Taunton, for a family party. Often single rooms small and feel more akin to a mpnastic cell than comfortable bedroom--not at Yallands. The room and en-suite bath were spotless and the decoration inviting. The bed was comfortable, a dressing table and chair provided a place to put on make up or write a letter, an armoire had ample hanging space, and there was even a chair and lamp for reading. The en-suite bathroom was modern with a step-in shower and plenty of towels for wraping up after showering. The owners, Chris and Karen, are charming and made the visit feel more like time with old friends. Having free WiFi in all the rooms was a real bonus. The breakfasts are huge and served in a lovely beamed ceiling room dating from the 1600s and on cool days the fire crackles in the fireplace making the room a cozy place to stop for a drink in the evening. It is possible to request an evening meal with 24hours notice and while I didn't make use of this opportunity, I certainly would do so on another visit. Yallands' location in the midst of modern houses is a surprise, but it feels like you've entered another world. Yallands iis the perfect location for day trips from Staplegrove on the northwest edge of Taunton up toward Exmore or through the valley between the Brendon Hills and the Quantocs to the seaside villages along the Bristol Channel. Not only do I heartily recommend this gem, I know I will return.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room. If you need a step-in shower rather than tub be sure to tell the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldwanderingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
63
26
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I recently stayed at the Yallands Farmhouse B & B in Taunton and have to say it's one of the best I've ever stayed in.

It was like a hidden gem. The pictures on the internet showed a lovely old farmhouse style building, I followed the sat nav onto a housing estate and truly thought it had sent me the wrong way, but I kept going and found the B & B tucked away in the corner of the estate.

The B & B was spotlessly clean but really comfortable and welcoming - furnished in a style that befitted it's era. It was so nice not to be in some generic hotel room - but in such a lovely house.

The gardens were also really very tidy, although it was too cold to go out and enjoy them, they were full of wild birds and I felt as though I was in the country rather than a large town.

The hosts were lovely, I arrived earlier than the proper check in time - but it was no problem, I received a very nice welcome. On being shown to my room it was exactly as shown on the internet and the biggest bonus of all was the bed - it was just so comfy!

Breakfast - on the first day I thought I'd have everything, but couldn't eat it all - everything was beautifully cooked and well presented, right down to their homemade marmalade. After that I reduced my order!

Nothing was too much trouble. I struggled a little with the overhead shower, the hose had an airlock, it was instantly resolved - no fuss, no waiting, no bother.

I stayed for 3 nights and it made an ideal base while I visited family in Taunton.

I would heartily recommend this B & B.

Wendy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at Yallands farm, while we were visiting my son in Taunton on Good Friday and we could not have asked for a warmer welcome. Chris and Karen are both excellent hosts who really made us feel at home. The rooms are spotless and have loads of character and the en-suite was new and very roomy. We were lucky to have Chris show us some of the other rooms and each one was different and had its own character, all were beautifully decorated and in keeping with the age of the property which is a Grade 2 listed building. The food was excellent, you must try the home made marmalade !! all in all a perfect stay and we will definitely stay there again.
after reading the Von Clump family review my opinion is they should stay at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barron1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

My father and I stayed at Yallands when visiting family in Taunton last month. We were so warmly welcomed by Chris and Karen. The twin room was lovely, clean, warm and really spacious with lots of character complete with a spacious ensuite. We spent both evenings enjoying a drink by the open fire chatting away to Chris and Karen and playing with their beautiful dog (not to worry if you are not a dog fan, he is normally kept out of the guest areas but we are a sucker for animals!!). Karen's breakfast is worth the visit alone... I highly recommend the homemade marmalade and the poached eggs. We didn't order food from the restaurant in the evening, but will definitely do so next time we stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for seventh time. As always it was EXCELLENT. Chris and Karen could not have been kinder, even though we did arrive in the middle of her "big" birthday celebrations. The rooms are delightful, check out the newly refurbished family room!!! Breakfast is freshly cooked and delicious, and the evening meals (ordered 24 hours in advance) are first class. Can't wait to stay again. Christine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at Yallands whilst working nearby. I am a woman staying on business on her own and the owners were both really lovely people.
They made me feel welcome and comfortable and even asked me to join in with a family gathering.
The place was immaculate and the food was home cooked and very nice.
I would definitely recommend this B and B to anyone, and would go back there myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Excellent service from the warm welcome on arrival to our final breakfast and sad goodbyes.

Offered drinks, normal teas and coffees and the bonus of a choice of alcoholic drinks as they are licensed

Could not find better hosts than Karen and Chris who advised us of their facilities, showed us to our well fitted and cosy rooms. Cosy nice not small. They also gave advice on facilities in town for eating and shopping.

Never felt more comfy whilst staying away from home

Room Tip: Saw inside tow and both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.0 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.8 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yallands Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallands Farmhouse

Property: Yallands Farmhouse
Address: Yallands Farmhouse Speke Close | Staplegrove, Taunton TA2 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yallands Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owners Chris & Karen Ward look forward to welcoming you to Yallands Farmhouse - our delightful Grade II Listed building dating back over 400 years, which sat amidst acres of green fields for several centuries. The expansion of Taunton during the 1970's led to new housing being built on the former farmland. The farmhouse, with its secluded garden, small orchard, and stone barn was left intact. As a result, Yallands has become an unexpected 'oasis' of peace and tranquility within a modern corner of Somerset's county town. Yallands offers self-assessed 4 star accommodation in Taunton, Somerset. The house is situated 1 1/2 miles from Taunton town centre, on the north-western edge of the town, and is easily reached from the M5 motorway - junction 25 (4 miles), and junction 26 (6 miles). For those who are reliant on public transport a local bus, with a stop at the foot of the garden, provides a frequent daytime service to and from the town centre. The lovely town centre provides excellent shopping and county cricket, horse racing, golf, theatre and other leisure facilities are all available nearby. Taunton has a good selection of restaurants and wine bars to suit most tastes and the surrounding countryside offers many delightful pubs which serve excellent food. There is ample car parking space in the private grounds together with lockable cycle storage in the stables. Why not enjoy relaxing in our gardens in the summer or sitting in front of our open fire in those cold winter months? Yallands is open all year round and - whether you are a tourist or a business visitor - you can be assured of a warm welcome and our individual attention.Yallands is particularly convenient for Taunton School, The Somerset Heritage Centre & Nuffield Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yallands Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yallands Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing