We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Welcoming. Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yallands Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yallands Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 56 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming. Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a fantastic few nights at Yallands. We had such a warm welcome on arrival and the service from Karen and Chris was fantastic. Karen even cleaned one of our sons baby grows!

Lovely breakfast too. Will stay there next time we are in Taunton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkyLoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
63
26
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed at Yallands Farmhouse regularly for several months and it is an excellent B & B that goes the extra mile to ensure your stay is comfortable. When I first stayed here Chris & Karen made me feel so welcome I felt like a close friend who they had known for years. The rooms I stay in are always serviced to an excellent standard and if I ever need anything Chris or Karen are always there to help. The breakfast is excellent as Karen (and sometimes Chris!!!) will cook exactly what you want rather than having to choose from a set menu. Karen’s evening meals are also of an excellent standard as it is home cooked food on a par with what you would find in a top class restaurant. I have found many extra little details that really add to making a comfortable stay such as a soft chair in the room, a quiet room and a clothes brush. Overall, this is an excellent B & B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Yallands and everything was just as good as the last time. The room was very tastefully decorated. The bathroom and facilities were also of a high quality and very clean.

The Yallands breakfast was well cooked and you could have as much as you liked. Whether like me, you're passing through, or staying a few days, this is a lovely place to stay with Chris and Karen being very helpful and welcoming.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I booked me and my Bridesmaid into Yallands for 2 nights before i was getting married on the Saturday and my first impression of the building was amazing it was so old and quirky and loved it. Karen/Chris came to meet us at the door on arrival and they where very welcoming and we settled in right away. Our first night was lovely the shower was great with lovely fresh towels and the bed was so comfortable, just what we needed before the big day. Breakfast was very good on both days just what we needed to help us through the days (finishing off decorating the venue). On the morning of the wedding Karen was very sweet and excited about the day and very much looking forward to seeing us all dressed up. I would definitely recommend staying at Yallands, Karen and Chris where amazing and our whole experience was brilliant, I cant thank you both enough for being so helpful, it meant alot. Many Thanks Sophie & Charlotte

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Best b&b ever , thankyou for looking after us for our cricket week. Our room was beautiful and clean, wonderful jacuzzi and marvellous bath sheets. Breakfast and evening meals are superb with great choices. Our son loved the trampoline and pinball machine. The yallands garden is great for relaxing in at the end of the day. Thankyou Chris and Karen for a marvellous week, see you again next August love the rounds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Yallands from a friends recommendation and to be close to Kings college. My younger son loved the gardens and the trampoline! Karen and Chris are very friendly. Rooms lovely and food brilliant. Sad to leave, its like being part of the family. Rebooked already.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A farmhouse within walking distance of the station? Yes! Yallands is a fabulous old house set in lovely gardens, just on the edge of Taunton. My single room was spacious and cosy and full of character. There was virginia creeper by my window and I looked out on the beautiful gardens.
Details that made it special: lovely old furniture, a proper armchair, a pretty teapot for my morning tea, generous hospitality tray, thick lined curtains, choice of feather or foam pillow, plenty of nice toiletries. I slept like a top.
Breakfast was first class, with fresh fruit salad and real wholemeal toast as well as the excellent full English breakfast.
Karen and Chris are very friendly hosts, and were helpful and flexible when I had to change my arrival time.
Yallands is a real find, worth going to Taunton for!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.0 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.8 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yallands Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallands Farmhouse

Property: Yallands Farmhouse
Address: Yallands Farmhouse Speke Close | Staplegrove, Taunton TA2 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yallands Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owners Chris & Karen Ward look forward to welcoming you to Yallands Farmhouse - our delightful Grade II Listed building dating back over 400 years, which sat amidst acres of green fields for several centuries. The expansion of Taunton during the 1970's led to new housing being built on the former farmland. The farmhouse, with its secluded garden, small orchard, and stone barn was left intact. As a result, Yallands has become an unexpected 'oasis' of peace and tranquility within a modern corner of Somerset's county town. Yallands offers self-assessed 4 star accommodation in Taunton, Somerset. The house is situated 1 1/2 miles from Taunton town centre, on the north-western edge of the town, and is easily reached from the M5 motorway - junction 25 (4 miles), and junction 26 (6 miles). For those who are reliant on public transport a local bus, with a stop at the foot of the garden, provides a frequent daytime service to and from the town centre. The lovely town centre provides excellent shopping and county cricket, horse racing, golf, theatre and other leisure facilities are all available nearby. Taunton has a good selection of restaurants and wine bars to suit most tastes and the surrounding countryside offers many delightful pubs which serve excellent food. There is ample car parking space in the private grounds together with lockable cycle storage in the stables. Why not enjoy relaxing in our gardens in the summer or sitting in front of our open fire in those cold winter months? Yallands is open all year round and - whether you are a tourist or a business visitor - you can be assured of a warm welcome and our individual attention.Yallands is particularly convenient for Taunton School, The Somerset Heritage Centre & Nuffield Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yallands Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yallands Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing