We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great retreat for relaxation”
Review of New Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great retreat for relaxation”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff and owners are brilliant and nothing is to much trouble, great food, great rooms,great pub in a traditional quite village but not far away from Taunton or minehead will use again.We were made most welcome when we arrived and all the time we were there.

Room Tip: All rooms are great here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here as a family in order to attend another family members' birthday. Rooms were good, very quiet and the bed was comfortable. I was feeling a bit fragile in the morning after the party and didn't have much breakfast, but the full Englisg looked very decent indeed. In addition, I forgot my wedding ring and the landlord took the trouble of sending it to me by registered post. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBleaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in a cottage very close to this pub, and had a good meal there one evening. The waitress was very friendly and the place had a buzzy atmosphere as was busy. We had Sirloin Steaks which were cooked just as we asked (medium rare). They could benefit from a childrens menu as they only offer half portions of the main menu, which on the day we went, there was nothing really suitable except for scampi and chips. Also they only had 2 red wines by the glass which i though was quite limited. But overall, a nice place : )

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were staying a few miles away and ate here twice. Lovely food, great atmosphere and very friendly and welcoming staff and local people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in Halse recently and walked to the New Inn from our cottage twice to eat . We were greeted each time by Alan and his son, Calum, with warmth and kindness. The pub is a good local and they allow dogs in - we would definitley visit again. I had trout fish cakes on one evening which were very delicious and even my husband's large appetite was catered for (although we struggled to finish the cheescake - huge portion!) This is a good local pub for those of us who prefer a quiet, friendly approach, good hearty food and respite after a long walk on Exmoor! Well done!
Sue from Surrey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed at the New Inn in Halse for one night when attending a friend's wedding. We only paid £55 for the room so didn't expect too much.

Upon arrival at the Inn we found that our room was like an ice box - the heating wasn't working. After a couple of trips downstairs to see a member of staff, this was fixed, but surely it would have made sense to ensure that the heating was on before we arrived (we were expected after all)! The room took ages to warm up.

Once the heating was sorted the stay was fine - the bed was comfy and the room was clean.

We took breakfast at 9.30 the next morning - breakfast is usually served between 8 and 9 but the staff kindly agreed to serve us later as we had a late night. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty.

This inn is very very quiet - I suppose depending on your taste this could be a positive or a negative. I found it a bit eerie - there was barely anyone around most of the time. Maybe that's because I'm a city dweller.

A good place to stay if you are on a budget, but I would rather pay more for somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
11.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
5.9 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.9 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Property: New Inn
Address: Coxland's Rock, Taunton TA4 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditonal country inn, nestling between the Quantock hills and Exmoor national park. The New Inn is an 18th-century former coaching inn offering the complete village pub experience. We have five en-suite bedrooms-double and family. All equipped with TV, tea and coffee facilities and extremely comfortable beds. A restaurant serving a full a La carte menu as well as a more traditional pub menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing