We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, basic B&B”
Review of New Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Inn
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly, basic B&B”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed overnight in this usefully positioned inn (going to nearby birthday party).More of a pub with rooms,(obviously) than a hotel but served its purpose.Nice big car park at the back which was a bonus as all the roads are narrow around there and the inn is right on the road.This means you can go in and out the back without going through the pub.The room we were given was icy cold when we arrived but soon warmed up when we got the radiator going.Nice and quiet as it is positioned in the countryside on a not too busy small country road.One criticism was that is got really cold in the night as the heating must have been turned off,but there was a small electric heater that we put back on.The sheets felt really cold too.This was,however a very cold week-end and a particularly cold night.
Not much into breakfast anyway but it was very basic,cereal,toast and a cooked english to order.Would have liked some continental pastries maybe and fruit or cheeses,like you get in most hotels but it suited this typically english small establishment.Would have preferred a 10am finish instead of 9am too.
On the whole pretty good and probably a lovely place to stay in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed one night on business. Traditional pub in village, great food, superb beer (the best pint of Doombar I ever had) and rooms were modern if a little small.
Staff were really happy to help, even ironed my shirt for me.
My only complaint is that the stairs up to the rooms could do with a clean and the tv in the room was so small it was like watching TV through a letter box.

If you want a night away in the Taunton area you could do a lot worse than this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moscar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff and owners are brilliant and nothing is to much trouble, great food, great rooms,great pub in a traditional quite village but not far away from Taunton or minehead will use again.We were made most welcome when we arrived and all the time we were there.

Room Tip: All rooms are great here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here as a family in order to attend another family members' birthday. Rooms were good, very quiet and the bed was comfortable. I was feeling a bit fragile in the morning after the party and didn't have much breakfast, but the full Englisg looked very decent indeed. In addition, I forgot my wedding ring and the landlord took the trouble of sending it to me by registered post. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBleaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in a cottage very close to this pub, and had a good meal there one evening. The waitress was very friendly and the place had a buzzy atmosphere as was busy. We had Sirloin Steaks which were cooked just as we asked (medium rare). They could benefit from a childrens menu as they only offer half portions of the main menu, which on the day we went, there was nothing really suitable except for scampi and chips. Also they only had 2 red wines by the glass which i though was quite limited. But overall, a nice place : )

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were staying a few miles away and ate here twice. Lovely food, great atmosphere and very friendly and welcoming staff and local people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
5.9 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
8.4 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.0 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Property: New Inn
Address: Coxland's Rock, Taunton TA4 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditonal country inn, nestling between the Quantock hills and Exmoor national park. The New Inn is an 18th-century former coaching inn offering the complete village pub experience. We have five en-suite bedrooms-double and family. All equipped with TV, tea and coffee facilities and extremely comfortable beds. A restaurant serving a full a La carte menu as well as a more traditional pub menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing