We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pigsty

The Old Pigsty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Pigsty
The terrace outside, ideal for sun bathing Inside The Old PIgsty
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Old Pigsty
The terrace outside, ideal for sun bathing
Inside The Old PIgsty
Inside The Old Pigsty
The hens who may lay you some eggs for breakfast!
The stable yard
The River Culm
The signpost near The Old Pigsty
The Blackdown Hills
The Old Pigsty is 4 Star rated
The certificate from our Visit England inspection
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Connector...
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderfully relaxing stay. Cottage very well equipped. Sarah was a welcoming,helpful but inobtrusive host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We aim to make The Old Pigsty as comfortable and relaxing as possible for our guests.

I'm so pleased to hear that you had a peaceful time, and hope the rest of your trip went well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D
Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint and Quiet”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived around 4pm after driving round in circles for 30 minutes. The directions don't take you directly to the holiday let so be prepared to hit the same road afew times before you find the property.

We were met by the chickens which love to chatter away to you and follow you to the property, very cute!

Sarah introduced herself after around 15 minutes of us arriving, and let us know that she'd tried a new cookie recipe with samples left for us - they were delicious!

The property itself is small but does the job for 2 people. There's everything you could need in a self contained holiday let and all in good working order. The decor is a bit tired but the bed is comfortable and the heating and hot water work a treat. Oh and the shower is lovely and powerful.

If you're after somewhere remote, away from the big city then this is your place. We were visiting for a wedding afew miles away so still wanted to be around some shops and pubs/restaurants. Unfortunately we struggled with getting around unless we drove. No taxi company would cover the area, we only found one out of pure luck - I think he took pity on us!

To some up, Sarah was a lovely warm host but maybe we booked the wrong kind of property for our stay. If you like quaint and quiet, and want somewhere to stay to enjoy walks in the beautiful countryside then you can't go wrong with The Old Pigsty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your review. You are right, the basic directions that Trip Advisor gives you are not terribly helpful, which is why we email all our visitors with clear directions to get to us. I am sorry that you did not use these to get to us.

I am very pleased to hear you found the accommodation comfortable and liked the shower, so many of our guests comment positively on that!

We do pride ourselves with being in a lovely quiet and remote location, and we do describe that in our advert on here, and also set out that you do need a car to be able to access shops, etc.

I'm very pleased to hear you liked the cookies and that the chickens entertained you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnK8743
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect rural retreat in glorious countryside and close to many attractions.”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Firstly the accomodation was superb - a terrific shower, really comfortable bed and a very well setup kitchen. Sarah, the owner, is a lovely person and will make you feel very welcome. This rural area is excellent for country walks and the locals are more than happy to have a chat with you. Wellington is an easy 10 minutes away and there are many places of interest well within a day's trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay at The Old Pigsty. It always amazes our guests what a rural location we are in, but yet how easy it is to get to Wellington and Taunton. You are right, the countryside around The Old Pigsty is glorious, with lots of lovely walks and friendly locals!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebert2...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, we've been back twice!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Old Pigsty, Taunton is in an area of natural beauty. The self catering unit is fully equipped and spotlessly clean. It has it's own spring water which we just loved. There was always delicious cookies to welcome us and our host Sarah is just lovely. Could not have asked for more. We also enjoyed feeding the chicken that visited each morning. Would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet - tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. it was lovely to see you again this summer, the chooks loved to see you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbaird1
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet retreat”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely week long break at the Old Pigsty in the Blackdown Hills.It was nice and quiet, just the place to re-charge the batteries.Sara was very helpful and she gave us some nice cakes on arrival and her hens provided some entertainment/ " home grown " eggs. The accomodation is ideal for two people and you can sit outside in a really quiet setting if you wish to.We explored the whole area and can recommend the local pubs, the York Inn, Half Moon Inn and the Sidmouth Arms , all provided very good food and local ciders. The Blackdown Hills are beautiful and you should not hesitate to visit them if you can and of course visit the O!d Pigsty if you get a chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely setting of the accomodation , added to the peace and quiet in very nice accomodation.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm very pleased you had a great time exploring the wonderful Blackdown Hills and visiting some of the lovely local pubs. I'm also very happy to hear that the chickens entertained you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marye985
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet spot in beautiful Somerset”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We wanted somewhere quiet to stay to recharge our batteries and this is it. Though set in the gardens of the owners home, we were not disturbed apart from being visited daily by their 3 hens and 2 cats! The accommodation has all you need for two people and is ideal for a short break. Wellington is 10/15 minutes away with Churchstanton about 5/10 minutes away, so if you wanted to go out in the evening you would need to take a car or order a taxi. We chose to stay in each night which worked well for us. There is a small TV with an integrated DVD and MP3 player. A very comfy bed and the best shower we have ever had, we wanted to take it home! Will definitely stay again. Thank you Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words.

Our aim is to make The Old Pigsty a relaxing, country retreat and it is good to see that we've hit the target!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peegold B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Even though it was the awarkard time of the year to go for holiday we absolutely enjoyed it . Sara was amazing and made us feel at home and the pigsty has a homely ambience which is exactly what we're looking for .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very beautiful and away from the main house. But lclose enough to ask for help
Liked least: There was no blender
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words, we aim to make The Old Pigsty a lovely relaxing place to stay for our guests. We're very pleased to hear that you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing