We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place to break a long journey.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ideal place to break a long journey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

For a change and to try avoid queuing traffic , on our annual pilgrimage to Cornwall,we travelled on a friday evening and broke our jounrney to stay over night here.I had booked well in advance and reserved a family room for £39 ...a bargain when we found our room (6) to be spacious , clean and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children (10 yrs old). After a good nights sleep we rose early, grabbed a McD's from close by and continued our journey delighted to be on the beach by 10 am on the first day on a brilliant holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneCrabbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    167
    89
    29
    17
See reviews for
147
177
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We sent the following complaint:

Mr Ian Todd
General Manager
The Blackbrook Tavern
Ruishton

Dear Mr Todd

In the course of my business I often need to stay away and normally elect Premier Inn. This is not only because the high standard of rooms, but generally we can be assured of a decent breakfast.

On this occasion, staying at the Premier Inn at Ruishton on the 7/8th I can only describe the quality of the breakfast provided by your establishment as not just unsatisfactory but abysmal.

The coffee served was virtually tasteless and proved, on enquiry, to be instant. The waitress tried to improve on this by offering an extra spoonful in my cup.

There just can be no excuse for this. At nearly nine pounds for a breakfast the least one can expect is freshly ground, high quality coffee. (Compare yours with that served at the O’Bridge)

The sausage provided in the cooked breakfast was clearly the cheapest of catering types and I doubt whether the meat content barely rated the label ‘not suitable for vegetarians’.

The bacon was also of the poorest quality, high fat and not cooked properly.

There is an attitude in much of the catering industry in the U.K., sadly reflected in your establishment, which can be summarized as:

“What is the lowest quality of offering we can present to our customers in order to maximize our profits and get away with it”.

Clearly, we will never stay at the Premier Inn at Ruishton again.


Yours sincerely

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room, as there is too much noise from the floor above. If you have to stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Pemier Inn Ruishton the accomodation was ok but the adjoining pub is awful it was so bad it became a joke evening meal was poor they had run out of most things bar service was so slow and staff didn't have a clue. To top it off the Premier Inn was full and when we went for breakfast there was one person serving, fetching dishes, clearing tables, operating the till, fetching food, fetching drinks etc etc etc, all we could hear was "sorry" "so sorry" it was so bad it made faulty towers look good. KEEP WELL AWAY

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. I can only apologise for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. This has become a recurring problem, and we will be investigating this issue with the management team at the hotel and the company responsible for the restaurant, in an effort to raise standards.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Staff at the hotel were excellent, with rooms being more than adequate and clean and tidy.
Paid for the breakfast on arrival - wish we hadn't. On arrival at the adjoining inn, found a small table for the four of us as the rest of the empty tables were covered in used plates etc
No bowls to start with for cereals, no small plates for toast etc, no cups for tea - then no water.
Orange/apple juice limited, with most of the jugs empty.
Dirty cutlery, plates etc
Felt sorry for the only lady dealing with the whole of the dining area - she simply could not cope on her own.
Don't use the gents toilets in the pub they are disgusting!
The hot food was in fits and starts, with many items not being available for some considerable time. Premier Inns cannot be happy being associated with this Inn. On complaining to reception we were refunded our meals, having eceived numerous complaints from the residents.
Premeir Inn good but not the adjoining pub.
Steve H

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations, but we do hope that the refund you received reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

July 2012 stayed 1 night and that was more than enough, the matteress had obviously been on its last legs for some time and was incredibly uncomfortable, so after a restless night, we were woken at 6am by seemingly endless deliveries into the hotel going past our window.The staff were sympathetic but the hotel was full, so no chance to change rooms.
The cost for 1 night was nearly £90 for a double room and 2 cardboard breakfasts, sorry 2 breakfasts in cardboard boxes. Yes, I should have booked earlier (or found somewhere else)
On a good note, we had an excellent meal in the pub next door, but they are nothing to do with the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Never written a review before so I'm not one of those who complain about the slightest thing (eg previous guests water in kettle when you arrive (although, for those who are interested in this detail, you will be pleased to know the kettle was empty of the same !!)

Could not fault the accommodation or the friendly staff - what was a let down was the adjoining eatery, the Blackbrook Tavern, an independent pub (ie not a beefeater etc)

From the outside it looks very inviting, but inside it has a large area for a carvery and, if you do not want this, there is a bar menu but the bar area is not particularly pleasant (eg juke box, large sports tv). What is suffers from is too young a staff - needs someone in authority to control them . It was not busy when we went but they were too inattentive (eg sweet arrived without them having cleared our main course plates) - evening meal food okay but not great - breakfast no great shakes either and the bacon I had looked as though it was from the cheapest cut possible - not up to usual beefeater standards
I mentioned this to the Premier Inn Manager who agreed Premier Inn were desperate to get their hands on the pub if it ever came up for sale as they know its not great. He also mentioned they would be refurbishing the accomodation early next year, although quite frankly. the standard is still high even now

Given the above, I would recommend the nearby Sainsburys Supermarket cafe for breakfast - same price and much better

Please also note that, because it is an independent pub, whilst you can pay for the Breakfast Premier Inn Meal deal (ie child free with one full paying adult) , it does not apply to the £22 meal deal, which is unavailable. Had I known this I would not have booked this inn and its something which should be made clearer on Premier Inn's website and I intend taking this point up with them

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received in the restaurant, please be assured we will pass on your comment to the company responsible.

Thank you also for your comments about the shortcoming on our website. Although we inform you that the restaurant is owned by a separate company, it is admittedly not clear that the Meal Deal offer does not apply.Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the head office.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Most people staying at any Premier Inn believe that the pub/restaurant next door is owned by the same group? Here I have to say, it doesn't and what a let down! Thank goodness for the recommendation we had to try a local pub in Rushiton for dinner - it was really nice and good value.
Orchid pubs who own the one at the Premier Inn need to pull their fingers out and offer at least clean plates and cutlery (which is what we found when having breakfast) Oh and watch out for the handles on the hot breakfast counter - I nearly got burnt using them!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you also for your comments regarding the restaurant next door, we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
3.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Address: Ruishton Lane, Taunton TA3 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Ruishton village, an ideal base from which to explore stunning Somerset ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton (Ruishton) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing