We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size rooms and parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good size rooms and parking”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

An easy hotel to park in, convenient for the motorway. Hence noisy if you open the windows, well insulated otherwise. Grounds and lawns could be tidier. A lovely annex to the main building, which looks like a converted farmhouse. Annex has easy access, wide corridors and very good decor. Room furniture excellent, plenty of hooks and hanging space. We loved the open style wardrobe with corner compartments. Bathroom good to excellent, vents well with excellent bath and shower. Bed excellent, very wide with good mattress and pillows. We stayed for 2 nights after a visit to Exeter on the way back to London.

We were disappointed with two things. Firstly, sticky bed side tables from previous cups and glasses. Very sticky and obvious. Yet the cleaner had placed a cardboard advert on the sticky surfaces. Secondly the reception greeting and attitude/service. Not bad but average. Rather robotic and indifferent, not impolite but could have been so much better. We arrived when one receptionist was on the phone. Fair enough, understandable but it might be good to train staff to, excuse the caller, acknowledge the entrance of guests and return to the caller.

Overall a good stay but could easily be made better at no cost to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a roomon the opposite side to the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    191
    101
    34
    17
See reviews for
165
206
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This Premier Inn is OK by Premier Inn standards but the biggest issue is the Restaurant that is attached to it. The food, especially the Cavery was really bad and the cooked breakfast left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here at the weekend and this hotel definitely did not live up to the expected Premier Inn standard. The hotel itself was tired and the bathroom shabby, the window locks were very loose and wobbly. Our daughters bed was a mattress on the floor not the usual comfortable sofa bed. The receptionists were friendly so it wasn't all bad however DO NOT eat breakfast at the adjoining restaurant. The worst aspect of the restaurant was that the place was filthy especially the crockery and glassware which we were told was all hand washed as they have no dishwasher. The staff didn't clear tables and didn't top up cold and hot food and drinks unless asked several times by customers, there was clearly no system in place. To be fair to the hotel when we complained they refunded us for breakfast and produced a large complaints book for us to add to, which made fascinating reading! There must be much better hotels in the local area and we are very disappointed that this came nowhere near the standard we expect from Premier Inn who market their brand as good quality standard service throughout their chain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04EmmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We decided to head for Devon a night early and stop somewhere along the way. I initally phoned Taunton East but they were full and the gentleman kindly booked us the last room at Ruishton. I was really impressed with the service on the phone and it continued when we got there, the lady on reception was lovely and very helpful. The room was huge, TV a little dated but it did the job. I never sleep well in hotels but managed the whole night at Ruishton. The only thing I would say is the restaurant next door wasn't great for dinner. Only had the last dregs of the carvery left with no other menu choices, despite it only being quarter to nine at night. On the whole a good Premier Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmineint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here overnight on long journey. Everything was as expected. No noise from inside or outside. Clean comfy room. Breakfast pretty typical too. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, preferred to go to the Beefeater next to the other Taunton Premier Inn where we've eaten before.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kara18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here with my husband and a group of friends travelling from Wales to a wedding in Devon. The hotel itself was fine - usual Premier Inn quality, very comfortable bed and clean. There were a few negatives - The room didn't have air conditioning and as the windows can't be open in full the rooms were far too warm. The shower was also poor.
The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a restaurant in Ruishton which was a 10 min walk down the lane. They even offered us umberella's to take with us! After 15 minutes in our room we received a telephone call to check that everything was ok with our room.They also rang the restaurant to make our booking. The meal was adequate and reasonable but the lane would be quite dark to walk home in the winter.
The restaurant next door to the hotel was quite random and dirty! We had a few drinks here as it was convenient. We also had breakfast here in the morning and it was disgusting!! The hash browns, sausages and bacon were'nt cooked! The staff however were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have stayed at this side every year in august for the last 6 years on our way down to Cornwall it was always excellent this year our group of 11 had too few beds in family rooms when we booked in January six adults 5 kids. One poor eastern european guy on reception trying to do 3 peoples jobs and a queue stretching into carpark did not help,booked dinner for group arrived told double booked we could eat in bar if we moved tables around we were then told a 11/2 to 2 hour wait for food, with small children told we could have free crisps whilst waiting very healthy we left restaurant,
Only saving grace was breakfast lady who s been there years she is absolutely fantastic deserves a medal she has saved me writing a far worst review

Room Tip: Holiday inn , dinner at Harvester,Breakfast here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAWelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel and restaurant did not meet your expectations.Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
3.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Address: Ruishton Lane, Taunton TA3 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Ruishton village, an ideal base from which to explore stunning Somerset ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton (Ruishton) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing