We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect from a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business and was travelling during the days returning to the hotel for the evenings. Check in a little slow but a nice greeting took a while to find my booking but all ok when complete. Room easy to locate on ground floor. Very large room with everything you need. One small criticism is the fact room had only one plug socket so could not charge phone and computer at the same time, an essential for the business traveller. Bed very comfortable and desk and tea and coffee making facilities exactly as I expected. Room lovely and clean, bed well made and ready for occupancy. Restaurant, which has been the subject of a little criticism appeared fine to me. Very reasonably priced carvery was well cooked and very acceptable. Staff were pleasant. Only down side is the hotel had put the incorrect card details on my booking card and so paying took an age. Breakfast was lovely on both occasions and the greeting was very warm and friendly indeed so I have no complaints. Food was hot, well cooked and plentiful. What else could you need. There was also an excellent variety. Some people reviewing the breakfast appear to want 5 star quality at a fraction of the price. Breakfast was £9.00 and represented good value for money. Two suggestions for the future is to increase the lighting between hotel and the restaurant espeically when you got throuhg the gate as it is really dark. Have some provision for business/travellers who are not able to eat at the restaurant before 9.30pm, a sandwhich selection perhaps. Overall, a good stay exactly what you expect from Premier Inn, its not the Ritz but it is not the Pits either!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel is fine, but I will not stay here again whilst the next door restaurant is still there and as bad for dinner. Breakfast was fine, maybe because there was a large rugby team there and so they were ensuring that there was lots of freshly cooked food being replaced. Dinner, however was awful (the only plus being the friendly French male waiter who worked his socks off). Receptionist at hotel was good - obviously busy but very polite and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

An easy hotel to park in, convenient for the motorway. Hence noisy if you open the windows, well insulated otherwise. Grounds and lawns could be tidier. A lovely annex to the main building, which looks like a converted farmhouse. Annex has easy access, wide corridors and very good decor. Room furniture excellent, plenty of hooks and hanging space. We loved the open style wardrobe with corner compartments. Bathroom good to excellent, vents well with excellent bath and shower. Bed excellent, very wide with good mattress and pillows. We stayed for 2 nights after a visit to Exeter on the way back to London.

We were disappointed with two things. Firstly, sticky bed side tables from previous cups and glasses. Very sticky and obvious. Yet the cleaner had placed a cardboard advert on the sticky surfaces. Secondly the reception greeting and attitude/service. Not bad but average. Rather robotic and indifferent, not impolite but could have been so much better. We arrived when one receptionist was on the phone. Fair enough, understandable but it might be good to train staff to, excuse the caller, acknowledge the entrance of guests and return to the caller.

Overall a good stay but could easily be made better at no cost to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a roomon the opposite side to the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This Premier Inn is OK by Premier Inn standards but the biggest issue is the Restaurant that is attached to it. The food, especially the Cavery was really bad and the cooked breakfast left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here at the weekend and this hotel definitely did not live up to the expected Premier Inn standard. The hotel itself was tired and the bathroom shabby, the window locks were very loose and wobbly. Our daughters bed was a mattress on the floor not the usual comfortable sofa bed. The receptionists were friendly so it wasn't all bad however DO NOT eat breakfast at the adjoining restaurant. The worst aspect of the restaurant was that the place was filthy especially the crockery and glassware which we were told was all hand washed as they have no dishwasher. The staff didn't clear tables and didn't top up cold and hot food and drinks unless asked several times by customers, there was clearly no system in place. To be fair to the hotel when we complained they refunded us for breakfast and produced a large complaints book for us to add to, which made fascinating reading! There must be much better hotels in the local area and we are very disappointed that this came nowhere near the standard we expect from Premier Inn who market their brand as good quality standard service throughout their chain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 04EmmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We decided to head for Devon a night early and stop somewhere along the way. I initally phoned Taunton East but they were full and the gentleman kindly booked us the last room at Ruishton. I was really impressed with the service on the phone and it continued when we got there, the lady on reception was lovely and very helpful. The room was huge, TV a little dated but it did the job. I never sleep well in hotels but managed the whole night at Ruishton. The only thing I would say is the restaurant next door wasn't great for dinner. Only had the last dregs of the carvery left with no other menu choices, despite it only being quarter to nine at night. On the whole a good Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmineint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here overnight on long journey. Everything was as expected. No noise from inside or outside. Clean comfy room. Breakfast pretty typical too. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, preferred to go to the Beefeater next to the other Taunton Premier Inn where we've eaten before.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kara18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
3.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
712 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Address: Ruishton Lane, Taunton TA3 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Ruishton village, an ideal base from which to explore stunning Somerset ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton (Ruishton) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing