We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel was clean and well serviced. Our stay was over two nights whilst visiting relatives. The food etc was well presented at both dinner and breakfasts. The beds were very comfortable to sleep on. The shower could of had more pressure behind it..! It served the purpose on this occasion. Thanks.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    108
    58
    19
    7
See reviews for
99
95
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have never stayed at a Premier Inn before but booked this as the Holiday Inn was too expensive for the required dates. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the beds were really comfortable. Room heater switches itself off after a time period so you can wake up cold during the night. The worst point that spoilt an otherwise very comfortable night was the noise of people walking around in the rooms above and TV noise from the adjacent rooms. I am certain that these people were behaving quite normally and considerately but the sound insulation is just inadequate. Also the WiFi charge after 30 mins seems a bit parsimonious. All small niggles and an otherwise comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night stop over. Check in was quick and easy. The room was cool with a fan and very clean and new. We were surprised by the quality of the room and had a good night sleep. The bathroom was nice too.

We had breakfast in the morning in the pub next door which was ok but not great. Quality wasn't great but for a cheap bed and breakfast place it was good for the money.

We would stay here again if we need to. Would recommend for a night or two stop over. Does what it says on the tin.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Standard Premier Inn, located next to chain pub which serves the breakfast.
Booked late and paid full rate, a bit expensive for what is on offer. Also booked the breakfast, since I wasn't sure what was available around there. As it happened, there was nothing in the neighbourhood so I would have had to breakfast there in any case.
Ten minute walk from the railway station for anyone arriving by train, although the town centre is a further ten minutes in the opposite direction from the station. Plenty of parking if arriving by car.
Only real niggle here, apart from the mediocre quality of the food at breakfast, was the charge for Wi-fi. First half hour was free if you logged in, payment after that. At a time when most chains are beginning to relaise that people expect free wi-fi, Premier persists with this nonsense about charging for the service. This will change; the group that owns Ibis and some other hotels has now stopped charging for wi-fi, so these are probably a better bet if trying to get work done.
A few of the guests appeared as though they might be being put up by social services under a B&B programme for people on the housing list, but maybe I am being unfair and they were just particularly rough with badly-behaved kids. They didn't cause me any problems except for making a lot fo noise at breakfast time and in the corridors early the night before. I still got a good night's sleep in any case.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It was stiflingly hot in every part of the building despite all windows being open. They have fans in all rooms and extra fans available so this is obviously a real problem. There is no air con and none of the extra fans reduced the temperature. It was 27 degrees in our first floor room early in the morning, no. 31. The outside temp was about 18 at the time. It was so bad I couldn't face another night there, we were offered a full refund and we moved to the Holiday Inn Express a few miles away. (helpful receptionist)
Breakfast is served in the rather scruffy, hot, ( air con not on ) pub alongside, it did not look as though it had been cleaned from the night before. When we arrived at 8.30 a.m. there were no clean tables, no bowls and no cups available. The cereal dispensers did not work and there were only 2 or 3 staff on duty who were very harassed. The food, however, was good.

Room Tip: don't go there - I can't imagine what the room temperatures would be like when the weather o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie5519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel.

Once again thank you for your review, we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of August. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. As my title says "sound proof walls" this being because i could hear everyword that next door were talking about and what they were doing and this was at 3 in the afternoon!! other than that Beds really comfy, room was spotless and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahbabe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel itself is nice and clean and found the resturant ok as well BUT this is not the hotel to stay as there is a busy road next to it.Myself and two friends stayd there on saturday 11th august for the night it cost me £166.00 for two rooms which were clean and tidy but due to the heat the windows had to be opend and beleve me the traffic is on that road all hours NOT a Good nights sleep had by all at all so would not recomend this hotel at all due to the noise from the traffic the staff were nice and friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing