We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here several times and have always rated it highly. Would say the best side is the uneven numbers as the road can be very noisy. Other than that no complaints. Thanks to Donna for efficient and friendly manner, a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

Spent less than 12 hours at this hotel but it left a good impression. It is not the most modern Premier Inn I have stayed in but made up for it in cleanliness, the size of the room and the very comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent and all round the customer service was top notch. At £72 including breakfast and wifi (a supplement of £3) it was good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I spent two nights here whilst visiting Taunton. The hotel was easy to find and had adequate parking facilities. The cost of two nights (Fri and Sat) was £150 which I found rather excessive for a budget hotel.

The Receptionist was very friendly and helpful during the booking-in process. The room was large and clean with a choice of hard or soft pillows.

A brisk 25 minute walk takes you into the centre of Taunton with a wide range of shops and restaurants. There is a Tesco Express within 10 minutes walk of the hotel.

The Premier cooked breakfast is expensive unless you have children eating free or have an enormous appetite. Apart from breakfast I did not eat in the restaurant due to the limited choice of vegetarian meals (two rather boring options).

Traffic noise was minimal as I was in a room overlooking the car park/adjacent restaurant. I understand that rooms on the opposite side of the building suffer from being situated alongside the main road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReadingRenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay and it's still good value for money. The heating was poor. The TV had problems which I suggest could of been (and should have been) sorted before my check in. For the price - it's worthwhile. Very good for business and or leisure...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stopped overnight here on our way to Dartmouth. It was a good overnight stop at a very reasonable price. ( one of their £29 Deals ). Hotel was clean and had all facilities required. Not luxury but what do you expect for £29.

Food next door was very good and was very popular. Always a good sign.

Close to M5.

Desk staff (young Gentleman) was excellent.

Pleased with stay.

Room Tip: Quieter in rear we were upstairs rear, never heard a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Gee358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed here during the snow for 2 days and the staff were wonderful. Helpful, checking the room heating was ok, booking me in to the restaurant etc. It was the restaurant that let them down I felt.
I was a solo lady and the restaurant had my order an hour before I was booked but still let me sit in the middle on my own for nearly half an hour before serving me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElfKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed over purely to sleep the night. We were warmly welcomed and an offer to call us a taxi appeared to be no trouble at all. Our room was what we expected from a Premier Inn; warm, very clean, functional, a bit characterless, good bed, bath with shower over, tea and coffee facilities and good towels. We were situated on the quieter side of the building and experienced no noise problems at all. They prefer you pre-order breakfast if you know you would like it but it can be left until the morning to decide if you prefer. Satisfied with our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter night ask for the quieter part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandSallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
1.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
5.2 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Taunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing