We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
North Devon uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have stayed at Premier Inns many times but this was my first visit to Taunton Central. The hotel is very comfortable, well it is a Premier Inn and they have the best beds of any hotel chain! The hotel is nice and small, and it is a quiet short walk from the town centre, train station and cricket ground. All the staff were exceptionally competent and helpful, even cancelling a non-refundable second night as a mark of goodwill. I've already booked again and recommend this great hotel, especially for those attending the cricket.

Room Tip: It is near a main road, but the windows are well insulated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    116
    61
    22
    8
See reviews for
104
100
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Standish, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby and this Premier Inn was the ideal place to stay for two nights.
The staff were wonderful.Really helpful giving us directions and generally informative about the area.Rooms were spotless and just what was needed after a long drive followed by a hectic wedding day.
Premier Inns are always good value but this one was particularly outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 31/5 - 2/6. We booked it literally 20 mins before arriving so felt quite lucky to get a family room, after stupidly booking originally at Pontins in Brean.

As expected, the service was up to scratch and the rooms comfortable, clean and spacious. We had one issue of an ants nest in the room but were moved straightaway.

We have 2 children aged 3 & 5 so decided to order food from the restaurant and have it delivered to our room - after a long, tiring day on the beach.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracylee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a family rendezvous in Taunton and stayed here expecting the usual and predictable (high) standard of Premier Inns: Clean, a reasonable standard of room fittings and decor and no nasty surprises at a reasonable price. This one did not disappoint. Regrettable cannot be so positive about the adjacent inn and a breakfast neither truly continental (our option) and with end of session lack of supply in fruits etc. For good sleep and ablutions this PI is as good as any and the disabled room facilities very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ok,

We stay at Premier Inn frequently. My son wanted to stay at this one. but we didnt stay long as he became unwell and we had to leave early.
The welcome was really Nice. Very good friendly receptionist. The room also was nice, however this is not one of the newly built or refurbished, so its slightly weary in comparison to the new hotels.
It is built in the middle of a housing estate so I must admit i started to get a bad feeling on what the Bar/Restuarant would be like.

The big minus was the restaurant. You have to walk round the corner to the front entrance, whereupon you are met by a cordon of smokers using every profanity under the sun. Not nice for my wife and little boy to witness.

Inside was not that great, service was very casual and even had to ask for cutlery to eat our meals with... which didn't come with a smile.

The Brewers Fayre was probably the last one we will visit.

I also think Premier Inns should drop Brewers Fayre as the attached Restaurant for what are becoming pretty obvious reasons.

However. There was little to criticise on the part of the Hotel itself. Nice small hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ok for a quick stay and bite to eat but your stuck with the Brewers Fayre for Breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here one night before our holiday and to be honest with we would of been staying longer. The rooms were lovely spacious and extremely clean. Staff were very helpful, kind and pleasant. Food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaBirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Typical Premier, clean, comfortable and good value. Staff very friendly and helpful as always. The even numbered rooms are on the main road side and can be a bit noisy during the rush hour, so if you want it quiet choose an odd numbered room. TV was a tube type with a square screen but OK for one night.
The only disappointment was the evening meal in the Brewster Fayre, the worst we've had in any of the restaurants associated with Premier Inns, I think the fryer oil was seriously in need of a change. Breakfast was OK, buffet style, even managed to supply fried eggs that weren't solid.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
815 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing