We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn, Taunton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Premier Inn, Taunton”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We normally use Premier Inns for work but out of all of these that I've stayed in, this one was the noisiest. I was on the main road side and couldn't open the window at night (room was stuffy) so had to leave closed as the road was quite a busy one and a flyover type so the road was higher up than usual.

Room Tip: As to stay car park side and not main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazwoodyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    113
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
101
97
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for one night to break our long drive from Otley West Yorkshire to Penzance. I'd booked fairly well in advance so had got the super saver rate.

I have dithered between 4 and 5 stars in all honesty. What I would have marked them down on: the bed frame was shocking...really creaky when you got in and out of bed...but the mattress was comfy. The tv was really old, I don't know why they haven't been changed. But apart from that, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean.

We had dinner and breakfast in the adjacent Brewer's Fayre, it was fine.

What really impressed me was how all the staff we came into contact with were really friendly and obliging, from the receptionist, to all the staff in the restaurant and the room attendant. They made an effort with their attitude so I feel they make it a 5 star review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on way to cornwall. Nice clean & comfortable. Could do with updating tv"s & suppling more tea, coffee & milk without having to go to reception & asking for it. We were on the 1st floor so noise from car park wasnt a problem. Had a dinner in brewers fayre next door, very nice. They have a section for adults only which we thought was a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night with our two small children on the way to Cornwall. We've stayed in more 'modern' hotels but this was perfectly adequate. The old TV stood out a bit and our bed was a bit slopey but really it was all very clean and we had everything we needed. The staff were superbly efficient, the breakfast was good and everything was well laid out and handy. We wouldn't really count this as part of our holiday but our stay could not have been easier.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemuddypuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was the first Premier Inn we have stayed in without air conditioning. (did not think to check for air con when booking & it was a non refundable booking. Asked & given a room on the quiet side (odd numbered rooms are away from the busy road) During our 3 day stay the staff were excellent & we found the Brewers Inn next door was very good with a good selection of food & different buffets during the week and would recommend it.
But on arrival there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor downstairs 2 rooms away from our room which we reported to reception (only double rooms upstairs which seems unusual) so we were downstairs. The room above us had "stompers" for 2 nights so we think that this hotel needs new, thick underlay under the carpets, the shower in the bath had a fixed head, a sliding rail shower would be better & the basin needs mixer taps, the hot tap was very hot but a mixer tap would solve this problem.
The main problem we had was the hot room, whilst it was not too hot during our stay we had the fan (which was quiet luckily) on all the time so air conditioning is urgently needed.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the side away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollercolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we stayed at the Pi the staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant but the tv was out of the ark the bed creaked the kettle needed a longer lead, the hotel does badly need an upgrade and some tlc both inside and out with the windows need cleaning, and the garden borders need a trim and clean out with beer bottles and food wrappers under the windows, then we went too the brewers fare for evening meal and had to pass the smokers who were sheltering in the entrance stale gig smoke and butts are NOT very pleasant to non smokers Please change THE VEGGIE MENU as the current one has little choice for vegetarians the tom cheese quiche the base of which is hard and un edible the filling is bland and tasteless, I would suggest that a paint up of the restaurant and maintenance of the gutters thet were filled with leaves and water dripping out ,graffiti on wall of the pub, not the usual Pi standard we have become used too

Room Tip: choose rooms overlooking car park for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190722Rusty1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was a warm night and the room was very warm, even with the desk fan switched on. Opening the window wider was the only option. However, being on the road side of the hotel the traffic noise was a bit of an issue and it didn't stop through the night. Other than this an enjoyable stay, an easily accessible hotel, good value for money and great food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Top Trumps F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing