We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting West Somerset Steam Festival. Have stayed in Premier Inns in various parts of the country on several occasions but this was our most disappointing visit. Our room looked out onto the main ring road - although there was double glazing there was traffic noise most of the night, normally this wouldn't have bothered us - however, we were subjected to very loud reggae music from the room next door. Having been asked to turn it down by the staff earlier it continued - at 2am I had to ring the reception on my mobile as there are no phones in rooms - the music stopped but the noise continued - eventually at 6am I resorted to banging on the wall which seemed to solve the problem! I went to the reception in my night clothes to be told they would pay another visit to the room concerned. Eventually it went quiet just in time for us to get up!!!!

We accept that when people make bookings it is not possible to know what sort of people they are and on this occasion we were very unlucky in our room allocation.However under the Premier Inn Good Nights Sleep Guarantee we were refunded a nights accommodation without having any further hassle.

On a positive note we found the staff polite, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The Brewers Fayre was fine - we had breakfast and also evening meals there.

Perhaps Premier Inn should rethink about phones in the rooms as it cost me money to use my mobile for their 0870 number when I needed to speak to reception. Not everyone has a mobile phone. Also is it time to replace the old type televisions???

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SophieStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    103
    54
    18
    7
See reviews for
96
91
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel a little dated but adequate and comfortable.
Very helpful friendly staff - even provided an umbrella.
Avoid the pub/restaurant for dinner if you can - the staff are disinterested and the food is very poor - although cheap.
Breakfast visit was a better experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We normally use Premier Inns for work but out of all of these that I've stayed in, this one was the noisiest. I was on the main road side and couldn't open the window at night (room was stuffy) so had to leave closed as the road was quite a busy one and a flyover type so the road was higher up than usual.

Room Tip: As to stay car park side and not main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazwoodyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for one night to break our long drive from Otley West Yorkshire to Penzance. I'd booked fairly well in advance so had got the super saver rate.

I have dithered between 4 and 5 stars in all honesty. What I would have marked them down on: the bed frame was shocking...really creaky when you got in and out of bed...but the mattress was comfy. The tv was really old, I don't know why they haven't been changed. But apart from that, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean.

We had dinner and breakfast in the adjacent Brewer's Fayre, it was fine.

What really impressed me was how all the staff we came into contact with were really friendly and obliging, from the receptionist, to all the staff in the restaurant and the room attendant. They made an effort with their attitude so I feel they make it a 5 star review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on way to cornwall. Nice clean & comfortable. Could do with updating tv"s & suppling more tea, coffee & milk without having to go to reception & asking for it. We were on the 1st floor so noise from car park wasnt a problem. Had a dinner in brewers fayre next door, very nice. They have a section for adults only which we thought was a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night with our two small children on the way to Cornwall. We've stayed in more 'modern' hotels but this was perfectly adequate. The old TV stood out a bit and our bed was a bit slopey but really it was all very clean and we had everything we needed. The staff were superbly efficient, the breakfast was good and everything was well laid out and handy. We wouldn't really count this as part of our holiday but our stay could not have been easier.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemuddypuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was the first Premier Inn we have stayed in without air conditioning. (did not think to check for air con when booking & it was a non refundable booking. Asked & given a room on the quiet side (odd numbered rooms are away from the busy road) During our 3 day stay the staff were excellent & we found the Brewers Inn next door was very good with a good selection of food & different buffets during the week and would recommend it.
But on arrival there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor downstairs 2 rooms away from our room which we reported to reception (only double rooms upstairs which seems unusual) so we were downstairs. The room above us had "stompers" for 2 nights so we think that this hotel needs new, thick underlay under the carpets, the shower in the bath had a fixed head, a sliding rail shower would be better & the basin needs mixer taps, the hot tap was very hot but a mixer tap would solve this problem.
The main problem we had was the hot room, whilst it was not too hot during our stay we had the fan (which was quiet luckily) on all the time so air conditioning is urgently needed.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the side away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollercolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing