We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place for a stop over on the way to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton East
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel 20 years ago (for 3 nights via work) and having left it far too late to book an overnight stay elsewhere on the way to Bristol airport for an early flight, managed to find a room here. I was pleasantly surprised to find that all though the hotel had obviously aged since my last visit, the rooms themselves had been refurbished and were extremely comfortable for my wife, son & I. We were impressed that a budget hotel provided the little touches like shower gel in the bathroom and even though we had to leave for our flight at 2.00am we slept soundly, apart from a brief 5 minutes when some idiot guests arrived back at their room making a racket in the corridor at 11.30pm (not the hotels fault). We found the staff extremely friendly & helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aparthenope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Taunton East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel needs some TLC and some money spending on it. The rooms are below Premier Inns normal standard they need updating. Apparently the towel policy has been changed only one small towel even if there are 2 people in the room. When we asked for another one it was no problem so why change the amount of towels per room?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie_gunfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Staff very very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Premier Inn a little dated. TV old style, and cable fixed to the wall with tape, which kind of spoilt the room. Bed very comfortable. Evening meals in the beefeater good value for money. Sat Nav sent us the wrong way with the post code given, best to use the directions given by the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMBWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in April. Unusually for a Premier Inn, it is in a residential location and, consequently is very quiet - yet less than a mile from M5. Check in was friendly and very efficient. As some of the other reviews have mentioned it is an older Premier Inn but so what - it was spotlessly clean, quiet, comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was served in the Beefeater - a short walk across the car park. Staff were friendly and breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

As soon as we arrived at this Premier Inn the lovely receptionist warned us that "it was due for a refurb" and it certainly was!!! Having stayed at another Premier Inn on our journey to Cornwall a few days earlier which was excellent we were sadly let down by this choice. Apart from the receptionist on arrival the rest of the staff in the nearby restaurant were lacklustre and not terribly bothered by being cheerful and welcoming. We hadn't booked dinner but arrived at 7 pm and were told we couldn't have a table until 8.15 pm so went elsewhere. Bed comfortable and clean as bathroom but so dated and shabby. Would always check beforehand in future to make sure an update has taken place in these Premier Inns.

Room Tip: Wait until this Inn has been updated
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Taunton East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

food first class rooms first class STAFF FIRST CLASS it is the best premier inn in the uk
we have stayed in loads all over the uk
nice quiet location close to m5 and easy to find
a warm welcome awaits you
steve and sean DIRECTPINE DONCASTER

Room Tip: nice quiet location good food all round excellent
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenLOWTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This premier inn was a convenient stop over on way home from Cornwall. The breakfast is really good as was not a buffet and was cooked to order, which was lovely. Kids breakfast is free. The evening meal was also very good and staff did that little bit extra to make you feel really welcome. We will return here on our way back from holiday this year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East

Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Taunton East is a short drive from the M5. With recently refurbished rooms you will find all of your home comforts and comfy King size Hypnos bed. Enjoy a scrumptious dinner and breakfast in our Beefeater restaurant. A short drive can take you to Taunton town centre, Taunton racecourse and the charming West Somerset steam railway. Enjoy a short stay while traveling through or stay with uslonger and enjoy all that Taunton and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing