We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton East
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good location - easy to find from M5. Friendly and efficient staff. Clean, comfortable and spacious room, but could be upgraded (old fashioned TV, bathroom dated). Have yet to pay 'budget' prices of £29 on any night I have needed to stay, or even less than £70 and it is the price that will make me look for alternatives. However, overall a trouble free stay. Would recommend booking a table at the Beefeater next door if you are planning to have an evening meal there as it is very popular, particularly at weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed recently as a stop over to Cornwall- myself, husband and 6 yr old son. Family room was smaller than I thought and tired looking- bathroom small.
Location was good and breakfast standard- sausage awful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very friendly staff in hotel and pub which is in the same grounds. we stayed here on the way down to Cornwall
first time we've visited taunton will go again. and will stay at this hotel close to m5 and town center

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winf1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

No air conditioning window restricted room unbearable and nobody got a giid nights sleep despite the guarantee! What a waste of time... completely defeated the object of breaking up a seven hour journey more tired than if we had druven straight there

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Services at Premier Inn Taunton East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and did the job for what was required. But we arrived late and the guy on reception was particularly rude and unwelcoming and not tactful! Not a great start. The hotel itself is fairly dated but is clean and no problems with the room itself. Breakfast is served in the pub across the way and was alright. Good variety and no issues. This is a good place to stay if you're on the road and need a place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjayne1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have done a few reviews on Premier Inns, as a lot of people say, they stick to what they are used to, and you know what you get with a Premier Inn.

Stayed here for one night, we stayed here over a year ago. As mentioned other reviewers mentioned before, this hotel does need updating, I know they have tried to do some patch work repairs. The TV is of an older style TV, you have your usual TV and coffee facilities. The kind receptionist on the Friday late afternoon/evening gave me some more tea etc, as a cup of tea was needed especially due to the rare hot days we have had.

Couple of negative points(only small)was the bathroom constantly smelt of cigarettes, the smell would go after the fan was on in the bathroom, but the smell would linger and make its way into the bedroom, which was not pleasant. However, upon checkout the following morning, I did mention it to the receptionist about the problem, but we will see if it gets sorted.

Another point which I will echo that other reviewers put was the noise from other guest, especially late at night when they arrive, it nearly resulted in a no no to a good nights sleep. Please could Premier Inn remind people to be more courteous to other guest, and not slam doors and let their children talk loudly down the corridor (well include adults in that last comment).

Positive notes: Clean (well the other guest in my party did find empty crisp packet on the chairs), friendly, helpful staff. Comfy beds, fan during the hot sunny days. Typical Premier Inn standards- hence why I book a Premier Inn time and time again.

Premier Inn need to do updates on their hotels down the Southwest, as Taunton especially is the half way point to Cornwall,and people may use it as a stop over for the rest of their holiday/journey.

Overall:good quality, needs some decor/room upgrading especially the windows!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkNikki82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here as a stop over on way to South Devon.

It had all the trademark Premier Inn features. I.e. clean, comfy, friendly staff and the nearby pub.

However it was not up to their usual standard, and we are frequent guests at Premier Inn across the country.

The room is clean enough but basic. The bathroom is only just acceptable, small, poky and needed refurbishing.
The windows were wet through with condensation and it was best not to look!

It was quiet enough and well located but desperately needs money spending on it. Closest I have ever come to invoking the good nights sleep guarantee but the staff were so nice, and we were in holiday mood!

Unusually for a Premier Inn, I would give this one a miss and use one of the others nearby in future, unless some work gets done.
Would have gone 2 stars were it not for the staff!

Disappointing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiths47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East

Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Taunton East is a short drive from the M5. With recently refurbished rooms you will find all of your home comforts and comfy King size Hypnos bed. Enjoy a scrumptious dinner and breakfast in our Beefeater restaurant. A short drive can take you to Taunton town centre, Taunton racecourse and the charming West Somerset steam railway. Enjoy a short stay while traveling through or stay with uslonger and enjoy all that Taunton and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing